Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this for my mother-in-law. The kids got to them first though. lol After reading that some said the batter was too thin I scooped the flour and they turned out great. I also added another banana and some black walnut flavoring. My toddler, who hates cookies, ate several before I finally caught her. A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
OH MY!! the banana bread cookies are to die for! The only changes I made to the recipe is added an extra banana (2 instead of 1) and added the mini choc chips. I didn't bother with the frosting. They don't need it they are sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
If you want a cookie that tastes exactly like banana bread, then these are the cookies for you. The texture is a little off, but they're tasty. Add some chopped walnuts or shredded coconut for a bit of pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilymarie
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yum! I really liked these, and so did everyone else who ate them. I added twice as much banana, but other than that followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe turned out just ok for me. It was most likely because I used regular shortening and omitted the vanilla because I didn't have any on hand. I did use 2 very ripe bananas, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Still, it seemed rather bland to me. Definitely bread like in texture which is good, but something is off about it. A good recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydney
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
THESE WERE GOOD! GOOD FOR A CHANGE, I HAVE NEVER TRIED A COOKIE LIKE THIS SO I THOUGHT I WOULD TRY IT OUT! IT WAS VERY GOOD BUT I THINK NEXT TIME I WILL ADD MORE BANANA! OTHER THAN THAT A VERY GOOD, MOIST COOKIE! THANK YOU =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These cookies were excellent. Very moist and cakelike - exactly as picture shows, so no surprise. Only changes were to use all butter because I prefer to use butter in baking. Also half white, half brown sugar becuase I only had enough for 1/2 cup of white. Used 2 bananas - perfect amount of banana taste. I found that not greasing the cookie sheets (although the recipe calls for it) resulted in puffier cookies that didn't spread with less burnt edges. Also I refigerated dough and cookie sheets as I do with all cookies in between batches and only baked for 8-9 minutes. No icing even needed, just simple dusting of powdered sugar was perfect. Overall, great recipe and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
These cookies are very good; I meant to add some nuts, but forgot. Nonetheless, they turned out well and are delicious. Thank you for sharing this wonderful alternative to banana bread. It made use of some extremely ripe bananas I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Halved the recipe, used the one large, overripe banana I had and butter instead of shortening. The first thing my almost 4 year old son said when he tasted one was- "These are muffins!" They are the exact texture of a muffin, so don't expect a typical cookie. They are tasty though! Great with my morning coffee. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These were very good. i added a pinch of cinnamon and a drop of dark rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States