Banana Bread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Emily Schultz
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used all of the suggestions below -- extra banana, extra flour, pinch of baking powder, oh and only about a quarter cup of butter bc that's all I had & a quarter cup of coconut oil. I figured with all the banana it wouldn't need as much butter & they didn't! I would probably skip the butter all together if I had extract bc the dough was still super sticky. Made some plain (hubby's fave), some topped with raisins & glazed walnuts (my fave), & some with sprinkles (my 3 year old had fun). All around a great tasting & easy cookie to make with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Schultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I use flavored creamer in place of the milk for the icing and it is so good! Try Southern Pecan or Caramel Macchiato creamer for a real taste treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I added 2 bananas instead of 1, could have used 3-not a very strong banana flavor, unfortunately. I added 1/2 C flour extra and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. The cookie was super soft, and chewy, just needs more flavor. Also, I chilled the dough for about 30-1 hour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I just made them, and I wish I had read the reviews first, which is something I normally do and didn't for some reason. I agree they are a little bland and would add an extra banana next time and walnuts. I also like the idea of replacing the white sugar with brown. The drizzle I would totally omit and just dust with icing sugar. But lovely just the same, a good base to start with. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl66
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These were a hit. I had to use up bananas. I doubled the recipe and modified a little. When doubled:1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 4 mashed bananas, 5 cups flour, 1tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, put parchment paper on baking sheets, used a gravy ladle and made large size cookies and before putting in oven I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top and then put in oven and then doesn't need glaze. My 9 year old daughter said never thought banana and cookies would go together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vincentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Add a cup or two of chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Looks Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love it! I made it healthier by using applesauce instead of butter and whole wheat flour instead of white. I also reduced the sugar by half and added 1/4 cup walnuts to the mix. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so I put a bit of extra butter in the batter, along with 3x more banana than called for. I was out of baking soda, so I used baking powder. The difference between the two leavening agents is that baking powder is meant to be used with batter that has a higher moisture content, so the extra amount of banana made it perfect. I had a bit of a problem with the consistency of the icing, but it still tasted great. Next time, I will use a different recipe for icing, but the cookie itself is excellent, closer to the consistency of a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awesome Erica!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! Tastes like banana bread. I didn't use butter in the icing, just the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelksr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States