Banana Bread Bars with Brown Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These deserve more than five stars. I cut the recipe in half and baked them in an 11x7 glass baking dish for the same time given. Otherwise, I made no changes. I like that these are actually "bars" that you can cut and eat out of hand, unlike other "banana bar" recipes here that are more like cake and require a fork and plate. The frosting is incredible...don't leave it out!! I cooked the butter for exactly 3 minutes on medium heat and it was perfectly browned. Our new official banana dessert here. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am the submitter of this recipe. I think the personal recipe version has better instructions. Here's a link to it: http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63791412/banana-bread-bars-with-brown-butter-frosting/detail.aspx BTW, his recipe is great without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I used an 18 x 13 jelly roll pan and had no problems with batter spilling over the sides. I reduced the bake time to accommodate the pan size. My bananas were completely black which gave theses bars a very good banana flavor with just the right sweetness. We like nuts so I doubled the amount called for in the batter and also chopped some to top the frosting. These bars are very moist and delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks, Allie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is super yummy! But don't do what I did; use real butter in the frosting! I used margarine and it was meh, but butter would have rocked it hardcore (wished I had used butter) otherwise made exactly as stated. The bars were so moist and delicious, 5 star good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These were so moist and delicious! Yummy goodness! Thanks AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, with rave reviews! Of course, anything with browned butter frosting on it is ok in my book. :-) I used black walnuts from the tree in our yard (so yummy) and parchment paper in the pan to easily lift bars out to cool, before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These bars were absolutely moist and delicious. I didn't make the frosting because they were so scrumptious on their own. If their was a rating for 10 stars, this would definitely rate as such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Moist and delicious! I halved the recipe, using a 9x9" pan, and it was perfect using only 17 minutes of bake time. I had plain Greek yogurt that needed to be used, so I replaced the sour cream with that. I combined all using the method of creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs, bananas, yogurt and vanilla and then the combined dry ingredients. I have never made a frosting using browned butter before. I did halve it another time because I only wanted a small amount. It seemed very thin, so I added MORE confect sugar, but this was a BIG mistake. It hardened up, like sugared-fudge. Tasted good, but not what I wanted in consistency. Anyway, this is SO good, it would be fine even without the frosting or just a dusting of confect sugar. Great recipe AllieGeekPi, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Best banana recipe I've ever tried! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is the bomb. The whole family loved it. It didnt last long after it was gone my dad told me i needed to make another one because we were all out. The brown butter frosting is amazing with it. I definetly reccomend this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States