Banana Bread Bars with Brown Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I am the submitter of this recipe. I think the personal recipe version has better instructions. Here's a link to it: http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63791412/banana-bread-bars-with-brown-butter-frosting/detail.aspx BTW, his recipe is great without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These deserve more than five stars. I cut the recipe in half and baked them in an 11x7 glass baking dish for the same time given. Otherwise, I made no changes. I like that these are actually "bars" that you can cut and eat out of hand, unlike other "banana bar" recipes here that are more like cake and require a fork and plate. The frosting is incredible...don't leave it out!! I cooked the butter for exactly 3 minutes on medium heat and it was perfectly browned. Our new official banana dessert here. Thank you:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Allie has a winner with this recipe! I made this for our November Girls Night Out group, and they loved them! The personal recipe calls for this to be baked in a 13x9 pan, and the published recipe calls for a 15x10 jelly roll pan. I used the jelly roll pan, but it was an inch or two, too short. My cake started going over the side of the pan and a small portion went on the oven floor - ugh. The bake time of 27 minutes was perfect in my oven. The end results were a nice, moist, dessert that cut very nicely. The brown butter frosting is delicious. It is the first time I've made frosting like this. Loved it....and I will be making this dessert again. Thanks Allie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I brought it to work and my office girls loved it.. Some asked for the recipe. And many people loved the frosting. I halved the frosting and I baked it in a cake pan.Frosting was a perfect amount for me. and next time I make it I will omit the frosting. I think it would be great without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is super yummy! But don't do what I did; use real butter in the frosting! I used margarine and it was meh, but butter would have rocked it hardcore (wished I had used butter) otherwise made exactly as stated. The bars were so moist and delicious, 5 star good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These bars were absolutely moist and delicious. I didn't make the frosting because they were so scrumptious on their own. If their was a rating for 10 stars, this would definitely rate as such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Halved recipe and baked in 7" x 11" as another reviewer suggested. Turned out perfect, these are not too rich and I like that the frosting makes just the right amount - not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I used an 18 x 13 jelly roll pan and had no problems with batter spilling over the sides. I reduced the bake time to accommodate the pan size. My bananas were completely black which gave theses bars a very good banana flavor with just the right sweetness. We like nuts so I doubled the amount called for in the batter and also chopped some to top the frosting. These bars are very moist and delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks, Allie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, with rave reviews! Of course, anything with browned butter frosting on it is ok in my book. :-) I used black walnuts from the tree in our yard (so yummy) and parchment paper in the pan to easily lift bars out to cool, before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These were so moist and delicious! Yummy goodness! Thanks AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States