Banana Bread Bars with Brown Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I see no sour cream listed in ingredients needed. How much do I add?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This was delicious. The only thing is after a day or two of sitting at room temp it became tough. For the frosting I just used a jar of betty crocker vanilla frosting which I added to it 3 tsp of banana extract. Sprinkles some crushed walnut on top of it and it was very very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
These are moist and delicious. I did have trouble making the frosting, wish instructions were a little more detailed, but it was more than likely an error on my part. I have not had a lot of success in this area of baking. It was a real fine line between being a frosting and a pliable candy coating of some sort, at least for me. Mine turned out like the latter, lol. Still, the taste was delicious. Will make again and try the frosting one more time. Thanks, Allie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Loved these, very delicious, liked making the frosting this way, turned out very nice. My husband enjoyed these and ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Loved it Made it with a cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
YUM!!! Took it to a potluck and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
These bars are really, really good. I followed the recipe with the exception of using a 8x11 glass dish. They took about 45 minutes to cook . They are so moist and full of flavour and I know that I will be making these again and again. Thanks AllieGeekPi for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
SO GOOD! This recipe is definitely an addition to my print out recipe book as I know I will make it again and again. Hubby must have told me at least 3 times "This is sooo good! Save this one"! I followed the recipe with the exception of skipping the walnuts as Hubby can't have them. I added them to the top for me. I loved the addition of brown butter frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I helped my kids make these for their Super Bowl party. While they were moist and delicious, I thought they were a little too sweet once the frosting was added. Next time, I would use a smaller pan, so the bars would be thicker, and then halve the frosting. They'd be good with just a dusting of powdered sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Hubs never came across a banana bar he didn't like, including this one. This is a classic banana bar recipe, but its distinction is with the browned butter frosting which I thought was a nice complement. Great taste, lovely frosting, but I prefer mixing up the batter using the traditional creaming method - cream the sugar and butter well, add the eggs and vanilla, and finally the bananas. Add the flour mixture alternately in thirds with the sour cream beginning and ending with the flour. A second helping for Hubs after supper? I'd call these a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States