Banana Bread Bars with Brown Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
SO GOOD! This recipe is definitely an addition to my print out recipe book as I know I will make it again and again. Hubby must have told me at least 3 times "This is sooo good! Save this one"! I followed the recipe with the exception of skipping the walnuts as Hubby can't have them. I added them to the top for me. I loved the addition of brown butter frosting. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I helped my kids make these for their Super Bowl party. While they were moist and delicious, I thought they were a little too sweet once the frosting was added. Next time, I would use a smaller pan, so the bars would be thicker, and then halve the frosting. They'd be good with just a dusting of powdered sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Hubs never came across a banana bar he didn't like, including this one. This is a classic banana bar recipe, but its distinction is with the browned butter frosting which I thought was a nice complement. Great taste, lovely frosting, but I prefer mixing up the batter using the traditional creaming method - cream the sugar and butter well, add the eggs and vanilla, and finally the bananas. Add the flour mixture alternately in thirds with the sour cream beginning and ending with the flour. A second helping for Hubs after supper? I'd call these a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Super delicious! I added mini chocolate chips. A nice change from banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Moist and delicious! I halved the recipe, using a 9x9" pan, and it was perfect using only 17 minutes of bake time. I had plain Greek yogurt that needed to be used, so I replaced the sour cream with that. I combined all using the method of creaming the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs, bananas, yogurt and vanilla and then the combined dry ingredients. I have never made a frosting using browned butter before. I did halve it another time because I only wanted a small amount. It seemed very thin, so I added MORE confect sugar, but this was a BIG mistake. It hardened up, like sugared-fudge. Tasted good, but not what I wanted in consistency. Anyway, this is SO good, it would be fine even without the frosting or just a dusting of confect sugar. Great recipe AllieGeekPi, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Best banana recipe I've ever tried! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Walter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is the bomb. The whole family loved it. It didnt last long after it was gone my dad told me i needed to make another one because we were all out. The brown butter frosting is amazing with it. I definetly reccomend this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is so wonderful and delicious. Super moist, so tasty and the browned butter frosting is the prefect topping. Followed the directions exactly and the bars were prefect. Will be making these bars a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These were so moist and delicious! Yummy goodness! Thanks AllieGeekPi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, with rave reviews! Of course, anything with browned butter frosting on it is ok in my book. :-) I used black walnuts from the tree in our yard (so yummy) and parchment paper in the pan to easily lift bars out to cool, before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States