Banana Bread - Quick Bread for Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Matsuimom
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This recipe is so easy and quick. My 3 year old prepared it in the bowl all by herself and I threw it into the machine. We did make some adjustments though. We added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, 1/2 cup of walnuts and used 4 small ripe bananas. I have the Oster expressbake machine which also has a start/stop function. I put it on bake and it baked evenly throughout in the hour time. It was very good. Moist and light. However, because of the adjustments I rated 4 star, I think it may have been bland and dry without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Seems like too much sugar, so I only used 1/4 cup and used about 1/3 cup more whole wheat flour. I also substituted the vegetable oil with coconut oil. The baking time was right on for my bread machine (Oster Expressbake, using the quick setting and removing the loaf with 30 minutes left). The loaf came out great, although I would consider adding another banana and maybe some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I don't have dough & bake as single programs on my breadmaker & my one attempt at a cake had been a disaster. I read in earlier comments of this recipe of similar problems with machines so I tried a "fastbake" setting. The bread was delicious. I added a handful of sultanas as the only change to the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A little dry and the top was raw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
it is my 3rd bun so far....and so far so good. it is yummy, moist, and super easy. I guess one extra banana add in will be perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I just tried it supper easy! And came out perfect looking! But was dry it wasn't moist , I put it on bread machine for 50 minutes but don't know why it don't taste as good as it looked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N3ssie27
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I had to create an account just so I could review this recipe! Mine came out perfect!! I received an Oster expressbake machine as a christmas gift and wanted to try something simple. I followed the recipe but I used 1 cup almond flour and 1 cup 'Better for Bread Flour' from Gold Medal. Other than that I added a little vanilla and a handful of sliced almonds and less sugar, 1/4 cup of light brown sugar and 1/8 cup of white sugar I didn't want it to be super sweet but just a hint of sweetness to compliment the banana. I mixed all the ingredients myself and used the machine to bake. I used the medium crust setting, although I like the crispier crunch crust I will go the light setting next time. The kitchen smelled AMAZING! my mom wanted to sneak an earlier taste, I had to fight her off, LOL. I was totally expecting a dense somewhat gooey kind of bread but it was not. It had the perfect amount of fluff. I was not dense at all!! This is definitely a keeper that I will be making often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very moist. I reduced the cooking oil to 1 tbsp and added 3 tbsp of sour cream. I used the quick bread setting on my machine as others suggested. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg. Very good base recipe for sweet bread in the machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I use this recipe all the time, have it printed and saved in case it ever disappears from my bookmark!!! I use 1/4 cup sugar when I make it for my diabetic dad, and he loves it that way. I always add in 1/4 cup of pecan pieces, too. I find that my machine is getting older and it has to bake at least 75 minutes now. My most recent addition was both pecans and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips... ohhhh the reviews that got!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe except I added a two extra bananas and TBS of vanilla and it was still bland. I think a bit of salt and maybe some cinnamon would have helped. The bread was moist enough just not very flavorful. I may or may not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States