Banana Bran Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I cut back on the maple syrup, but the family loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Outstanding recipe--moist, flavorful, and amazingly without any oil or butter! Admittedly I did change a few things and I usually don't review recipes that I've tweaked (because you're no longer reviewing the posted recipe!), but I did want to share the changes I made since they worked so well. First, I had no pumpkin so I used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead. Two whole eggs instead of the one whole and 2 whites (laziness on my part), and instead of the maple syrup and sugar I just used 3/4 cup brown sugar, which was plenty sweet for my taste. I also threw in a ripe pear that I had to use up, and that probably helped the moistness too. I could easily see adding apples, carrots, whatever to this. I didn't have cloves or allspice so I left those out and it had plenty of flavor. Lastly, I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. Ok so maybe my version isn't at all like the posted recipe but it sure was good! I chopped the zucchini in the food processor, then took it out and mixed the rest of the wet ingredients in there (including the pear), and then poured the wet into the bowl of dry ingredients, then stirred in the zucchini and walnuts by hand. That was an easy way to do it. A few other thoughts: I could easily see doubling the amount of zucchini as it seemed a little light on that but if you are trying to sneak it in for your kids or hubby then leave it at 2 cups. And I think I will try this as a muffins because the edges were definitely the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My husband eats a bran muffin every morning and I thought this recipe would be a nice change. He loved it! I substituted 1/4 c of applesauce instead of pumpkin and added 1 more mashed banana , 1 c of raisins and followed the rest of the recipe. It was very moist and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I really changed it up. I used spelt flour, 1/4 teaspoon pure stevia, 2 bananas 1/3 cup agave, 1/4 cup applesauce. I am munching on it now. Very healthy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This recipe came out great! I made it into muffins, instead of the squares and baked it for about 18 minutes. The muffin stuck to the paper liner initially, but after a night in a ziploc bag the liners peeled right off! I used regular whole wheat flour instead of pastry flour, and ommitted the allspice (because I didn't have any!) I also used probably about 3/4 cup of pure maple syrup, and a little less than the recommended amount of brown sugar, because I ran out of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is tasty and moist. It does have a different texture (from the bran). The pumpkin flavor isn't really noticable, but the banana really comes through. This is more of a cake than a bread since it isn't baked in a loaf pan. Min required less baking time than stated - about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very nice recipe. Made some substitutions just based on what I had on hand - squash instead of pumpkin, 2 whole eggs instead of 1 whole and 2 whites, 1/4 cup maple sugar (ran out) and 1/4 cup honey instead of 1 cup maple syrup, 1/3 brown sugar instead of raw, didn't measure the zucchini - just used two I had on hand, regular whole wheat flour. Could be slightly sweeter than I made it but was still nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used 2 bananas instead of the pumpkin as I only had a large can and didn't want to waste the rest. I also used 1/2 cup lite syrup and 1/8 cup sugar and an 1/8 cup splenda (I don't taste the splenda if I use this little bit). I also used quick oats instead of bran simply because I had them. I didn't process them as someone else did but would next time. I also added 1/4 cup water. All in all, they are OK. I cooked for 30 minutes and it was too long. Not bad, but they taste healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was delicious. I used old fashioned oat meal and processed it to a fine powder instead of the bran and cut the syrup down more than 1/2 and added more pumpkin. I added chopped pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Delicious! I made a few substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, but it seems to be a robust recipe that can take a fair amount of fiddling and still turn out well. Oh, and taking the suggestions of others here, I did cut down on both the sugar and maple syrup by quite a bit. Maple syrup is expensive and half the amount called for works just fine if you add in a little more liquid elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States