Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thanks, all of you, for sharing your creative ideas for this muffin! Mine came out great, and I substituted applesauce/yogurt for the butter, and whole wheat flour and flax seed meal for the white flour. The taste didn't suffer at all. Next time, however, I am going to use some extra-virgin coconut oil for part of the fat...the combination is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made these in a pinch to fulfill a request at our church's coffee cafe. I love this recipe! I followed everything to a T with the exception of adding 3 Tbs. ground flax seed, 1/2 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. raisins, organic whole wheat flour(in place of the all purpose regular) and 1 finely shredded carrot. Adding ground flax seed gives it more "oil", but I chose not to reduce my butter and the results were great! Very moist and hearty! I used the All-Bran cereal and tossed it into the liquid to soften , then added the dry ingreadients. Don't over stir, just mix enough to blend the ingredients, otherwise you might get a hollowed out center and a crown that won't rise. Use overripe bananas for the best flavor and result. I would have added a few Tbs. of honey, but I was out, still, the sweetness was spot on! I used jumbo muffin liners for my jumbo muffin tins and the recipe gave me 6 jumbos. I will double it next time. You cannot go wrong with this recipe as I believe it's virtually fool proof! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Cowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
My husband and I make these for our 18 month old son with whole wheat flour and half the suger! He can not get enough of them...(he points at the kitchen counter and yelps for more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I've made this twice and both times was AMAZING!! I did top them with a lot of honey and cinnamon before baking and the second time I subsituted half a cup of flour with half a cup of oatmeal. To do this, just throw the oatmeal in your blender and within a minute or so it turns to powder...it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I love this recipe. I substitute applesauce for the butter, whole wheat flour for the flour and use Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very delicious. The only change I made was to use instead of the margarine/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Schnare Harnish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Lovely recipe. Instead of butter I used a plum flavoured soya yogurt and in place of flour I used soya flour and added oats. I didn't have enought muffin cases so I poured the batter into a cake tin and baked for a little longer. Very moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I bake a lot, especially banana muffins for my husband. These are the best muffins I've made. I substituted applesauce for the butter and egg beaters for the egg. Then I used 1/2 cup of flax seed meal, 1/2 cup of oatmeal and 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I added 1/2 cup of coconut along with the chopped nuts. Healthful, moist and delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I am not a huge fan of banana bread but I needed to do something with my over ripe bananas so I went to my favorite sourse - allrecipes.com. I had to make a few changes but only out of necessity and it still turned out great. First I used oats instead of wheat bran because that's all I had, I only had one egg, I threw in a 1/2 cup of ground flax seed for fiber and added a 4th banana simply because I had it and wasn't going to throw it away.I was in a hurry so instead of muffins I threw the batter in a loaf pan and made bread. OH MY GOSH! The very best banana bread ever! So moist and the flavor and texture (because of the oats and extra banana) were out of this world!! It had to bake a little longer than if I had made muffins, but was well worth the wait. I will buy banana's this weekend just to make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I changed way to many things to give this a true rating. They were delicious and my non health nut husband said they were good tasting and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States