Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
yummy and healthy! i only have a mini muffin pan, and i think that's the reason they come out slightly chewier than i would like. think they would be best as regular sized muffins. good overall though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Moist and tasty! I made many of the changes suggested by previous reviewers, subbing the butter for apple sauce, adding 1 c. of wheat bran, using 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour, adding pumpkin pie spice (plus 1 tsp. extra cinnamon 'cause I like things spicy), used 4 bananas because that's what I had, and I used soy milk instead of cow's milk. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the muffins; I'll definitely make them again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very tasty. Instead of using 1/2 cup of butter, I used 1/4 cup and 1/4 - 1/2 cup applesauce. These muffins turned out very moist and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These muffins are good and good for you! I use 1/2 cup oats and drop the white flour back 1/2 cup. I also decrease the butter and use apple sauce instead. For a lower sugar, I use Splenda brown sugar. They always come out really good. My favorite way to use up over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made the muffins exactly as the recipe called for and they were delicious!! My 12 year-old daughter LOVED them. I have never tried applesauce as a substitute for butter but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thanks, all of you, for sharing your creative ideas for this muffin! Mine came out great, and I substituted applesauce/yogurt for the butter, and whole wheat flour and flax seed meal for the white flour. The taste didn't suffer at all. Next time, however, I am going to use some extra-virgin coconut oil for part of the fat...the combination is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I made these in a pinch to fulfill a request at our church's coffee cafe. I love this recipe! I followed everything to a T with the exception of adding 3 Tbs. ground flax seed, 1/2 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. raisins, organic whole wheat flour(in place of the all purpose regular) and 1 finely shredded carrot. Adding ground flax seed gives it more "oil", but I chose not to reduce my butter and the results were great! Very moist and hearty! I used the All-Bran cereal and tossed it into the liquid to soften , then added the dry ingreadients. Don't over stir, just mix enough to blend the ingredients, otherwise you might get a hollowed out center and a crown that won't rise. Use overripe bananas for the best flavor and result. I would have added a few Tbs. of honey, but I was out, still, the sweetness was spot on! I used jumbo muffin liners for my jumbo muffin tins and the recipe gave me 6 jumbos. I will double it next time. You cannot go wrong with this recipe as I believe it's virtually fool proof! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Cowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
My husband and I make these for our 18 month old son with whole wheat flour and half the suger! He can not get enough of them...(he points at the kitchen counter and yelps for more!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I've made this twice and both times was AMAZING!! I did top them with a lot of honey and cinnamon before baking and the second time I subsituted half a cup of flour with half a cup of oatmeal. To do this, just throw the oatmeal in your blender and within a minute or so it turns to powder...it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I love this recipe. I substitute applesauce for the butter, whole wheat flour for the flour and use Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States