Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Moist and delicious! I changed the all-purpose flour to whole-wheat flour and the muffins still received two-thumbs-up from my family. Great recipe! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yummmmmmyyyyy. Added in an extra banana just because and they turned out so moist. Also substituted rice milk for the milk. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
YUM! YUM! YUM! These are delicious muffins and such a simple recipe. Like other reviewers, I wanted to make the muffins healthier, so I made the following changes:1)Used Applesauce in place of butter, 2)Used egg beaters, 3)increased wheat bran by 1/2 cup, decreased AP flour by 1/2 cup, 4)Added Cinnamon and Pumpkin Pie Spices, 5)Added raisins in place of nuts, and 5) used low fat buttermilk (because I needed to use it up). The muffins turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious! Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness, my kids loved them! This will be a family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gowrie, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
One of the better muffin recipes I have made. I followed the recipe except I left out the nuts. Really good. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These are amazing! One of the best bran muffin recipes I've tried. Nice, cake-like texture. In my oven, 20 minutes was perfect. I tried to make them a little healthier by using 1 cup AP flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat. Also wanted to sub in applesauce for the butter but unfortunately my applesauce had gone moldy. Will try next time though. Anyway, these are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great base recipe because it is very easy to adapt while still seeing great results. My review is of a significantly altered recipe, but it was still delicious. I used silken lite tofu in place of the butter, quinoa for the bran (I also did 1 cup of quinoa and 1 cup AP flour) and used pecans for walnuts. The result was quite delicious. Don't be afraid to tweak to accomidate whatever grains or nuts you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are awesome. I added 1/4 c. jumbo chocolate chips and used only 1/4 c. walnuts. The chocolate added some extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is the best recipe I've found in my attempts to duplicate the banana bran muffins I love from a local bakery. I used whole wheat flour, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very tasty, dense and healthy. To cut on fat I use 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, and to up the fiber I use 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1 cup of whole wheat flour. These bake up really well as jumbo muffins, but are nice as regular muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States