Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great base recipe because it is very easy to adapt while still seeing great results. My review is of a significantly altered recipe, but it was still delicious. I used silken lite tofu in place of the butter, quinoa for the bran (I also did 1 cup of quinoa and 1 cup AP flour) and used pecans for walnuts. The result was quite delicious. Don't be afraid to tweak to accomidate whatever grains or nuts you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are awesome. I added 1/4 c. jumbo chocolate chips and used only 1/4 c. walnuts. The chocolate added some extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is the best recipe I've found in my attempts to duplicate the banana bran muffins I love from a local bakery. I used whole wheat flour, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very tasty, dense and healthy. To cut on fat I use 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, and to up the fiber I use 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1 cup of whole wheat flour. These bake up really well as jumbo muffins, but are nice as regular muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
yummy and healthy! i only have a mini muffin pan, and i think that's the reason they come out slightly chewier than i would like. think they would be best as regular sized muffins. good overall though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Moist and tasty! I made many of the changes suggested by previous reviewers, subbing the butter for apple sauce, adding 1 c. of wheat bran, using 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour, adding pumpkin pie spice (plus 1 tsp. extra cinnamon 'cause I like things spicy), used 4 bananas because that's what I had, and I used soy milk instead of cow's milk. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the muffins; I'll definitely make them again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very tasty. Instead of using 1/2 cup of butter, I used 1/4 cup and 1/4 - 1/2 cup applesauce. These muffins turned out very moist and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
These muffins are good and good for you! I use 1/2 cup oats and drop the white flour back 1/2 cup. I also decrease the butter and use apple sauce instead. For a lower sugar, I use Splenda brown sugar. They always come out really good. My favorite way to use up over ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made the muffins exactly as the recipe called for and they were delicious!! My 12 year-old daughter LOVED them. I have never tried applesauce as a substitute for butter but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thanks, all of you, for sharing your creative ideas for this muffin! Mine came out great, and I substituted applesauce/yogurt for the butter, and whole wheat flour and flax seed meal for the white flour. The taste didn't suffer at all. Next time, however, I am going to use some extra-virgin coconut oil for part of the fat...the combination is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 121-130 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States