Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Pretty good. Made with applesauce instead of oil and oat bran instead of wheat. Next time I will add some berries to liven it up but as is a tasty, healthy breakfast or snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I usually like to follow recipes, but I had extra stuff on hand, so I added craisins, cinnamon and nutmeg. I'll let you know how the alterations turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
OMG. These muffins are delicious. These are the only substitutions I made to make them healthier: substituded 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter, decrease the flour to 1 cup and added in 1/2 cup oat bran, used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tablespoons truvia baking sugar, and added a couple chocolate chips for good measure. HOLY MOLY. They are dense, moist, delicious and incredibly healthy!!!! And the batter made enough for about 16 muffins. I'll be making these as often as I have a sweet tooth (every single day). Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good basic muffin recipe. I made a few changes to incorporate flax seeds and whole wheat flour. I replaced the eggs with ground flax seeds (1 tbsp flax seed meal + 3 tbsp water replaces 1 egg). I used 1 cup of wheat bran and 1/2 cup of each whole wheat and all purpose flour. The muffins came out moist and more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyq2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very delicious. I took advice from other reviewers and reduced the butter to 4 tablespoons of unsalted, 1/4 cup of brown sugar,1/4 cup of molasses, 1/4 cup of applesauce,1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of wheat germ, 1 teaspoon nutmeg,2 teaspoons of cinnamon and increased the wheat bran to 1 cup. This may have more added ingredients than you may like, however these muffins are very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
These were pretty good very moist mine turned out a bit dense not as fluffy as i would of liked but still yummy!! i subbed apple sauce for the butter easy and pretty healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Light, fluffy muffins. Even my teenager liked them. I doubled the bran (used bran buds cereal) and reduced the flour. Also used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup molasses. Used raisins instead of walnuts. Yay! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Terrific! I have been looking for a decent, healthy banana bread recipe for ages! I used a whole wheat self rising flour (pancake flour actually) to reduce the number of ingredients I had to fool with (self rising allows you to skip the soda, powder, and salt). Otherwise followed recipe exactly. But next time I will try applesauce instead of butter - probably a 'heavy' 1/2cup to ensure moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
it was a very good recipe. i added an extra banana, but used less butter, flour and sugar. i substituted with a small Organic Applesauce (250 g, i think). and i used more Bran and Oatmeal to replace the flour so it was still a total of 2 cups. Very moist and tasty. and a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Love this recipe use it all the time and we're using it for a bake sale right now signing off this is B & D S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States