Banana Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
A bran muffin that actually tastes good! I used three small bananas and a small container of cinnamon applesause. These came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Really yummy! I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half all-purpose flour. Also substituted chocolate chips for the walnuts. Kids especially loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made these with healthy options (applesauce and splenda/sugar mix) and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Good recipe, i am not a big fan of the "bran taste" and the bananas in this recipe defiantly hide the taste. Instead of using 1/2c butter i only used 1/4c of butter and 1/4c of unsweetened applesauce, so they still came out moist. I also only used 1/4c of splenda brown sugar, and substituted 1/4c of pecans instead of walnuts! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I can't believe how good these were even with the butter replaced with applesauce! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Like other users, I replace the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I cut back on the sugar a bit but will use the stated amount next time. They weren't quite sweet enough for muffins to me. I used 2 medium bananas and two small ones. Throw your overripened bananas in the freezer then defrost on the counter for 30-40 min. when you're ready to bake with them. I might experiment with adding some spices next time. Maybe some cinnamon? Fantastic recipe and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Delicious! The only modifications I made were to use skim milk instead of whole milk and used 1 cup whole wheat flour plus 1/2 cup of all purpose flour. This will definitely be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Absolutely perfect and sooo good. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
These were amazing!! Very moist and light. Only changes were Whole Wheat flour and added raisins. Will make these all the time!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
A few changes: I substituted the butter for applesauce, flour for wheat flour, and only used one egg. They're very moist and flavorful and I suggest using large VERY ripe bananas for extra sweetness. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States