Banana Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
These are great! The first time I made them I wrapped my tin foil too tightly around the banana and ended up with most of my marshmallows and chocolate sticking to the tin foil. The next time I made them, I made a loose pouch out of the aluminum foil and it turned out a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Very very simple, but very very good! I've made this before, and have always made it in the oven, which takes about 15 or so minutes to melt the chips and mallows. The taste of chocolate, marshmallow and melted banana is SOOO good! I've also tried with PB chips, and added some walnuts etc., all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Easy recipe! I used the oven and I had to increase the baking time a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
One of my favorite camp desserts, though I do make them at home in the microwave. Make sure to cut off banana stems before microwaving as they will catch fire. Cook time varies so I always cook for a minute at a time. Would be great for kids to do as it doesn't involve the stove or oven, and it is good and squishy when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Instead of the chocolate chips, I took 4 different types of chocolate bar and cut them up into pieces. Then everyone chose what kind they wanted in their boat. SO good! I highly recommend this with your favorite candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Loved this recipe. It was so simple yet the kids(2, 5, & 6) had so much fun making these. They loved being able to make their own dessert. After pulling out of the oven I also let the kids add whipped cream, strawberries, and blueberries. It was absolutely delicious. Plus, clean up was a breeze by just wrapping the aluminum foil over the banana peel afterwards and tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I first learned how to make this at daycare when I was very little. This is the best PMS food. It's even better with chunky peanut butter spread on the inside, along with the chips and marshmallows. You can also vary up the chips to what you like to use. Or you could skip the middle man and use Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I made them a little differently. i took them out of the peel and then placed them on aluminum foil with the chocolate and marshmallows on top, and then heated it in the oven. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
hey kelsie, it was great. and so simple! i made some for my neighbor and she made them at a BBQ with her family, and everyone there asked her for the recipe. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are a quick and easy dessert that is great for kids! I marked it down to 4 stars only because the cooking time is off (I put ours in for 10 minutes at 400 degrees). I happened to have Reese's peanut butter chips on hand so I added those as well and it was great, but they're also really good with just the chocolate. I echo one reviewers advice to create a 'pouch' so all of your toppings don't stick to the foil. We serve them by cutting off the ends after cooking and pulling the peel off as we roll them onto the plate. Great for camping AND home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States