Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My muffin tin was in storage so I made these just in a 8x8 baking pan and increased the baking time to 35 min. It turned out very well and have remained moist and tasty even 4 days later! I also forgot to put cinnamon in but it still tastes great! Thank you for the healthy alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Evidently some people doesn't realize that muffin batter is THICK. It's suppose to be thick. You're not making cupcakes. I only made 3 changes in making these. I used 2 eggs and 1 cup of WW flour and 1 cup SR flour with 1 teaspoon of baking powder and left off the soda. I baked these in 2 batches. Thirst batch was not sweet enough for my liking, so I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the other batter and these turned out perfect. I'll definitely be making these again, with about 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These rock! I split the flour to use half whole wheat, half all purpose; split the sugar to use half turbinado and half white (gave it a little tiny crunch); used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 whites; added some freshly grated nutmeg and a splash of almond extract; and 2 tablespoons of buttermilk to moisten the batter. I also used almost 2 cups of fresh blueberries, lightly dusted in flour to keep them from mushing when baked. Will definitely add this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These muffins are super dry - I had to add a half cup of milk at the end which made them overmixed and tough. If you add some liquid in before you mix the wet ingredients in, though, I bet they'd be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Just OK...needs 1/4 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cup blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elijahsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was really good! I made some changes because I was honestly afraid reading the ingredients that it would be VERY dry! So I used one container of OIKOS single serve blueberry greek yogurt, one whole egg and two egg whites. I used frozen blueberries which I stirred with 2 tbsp flour mixture before adding at the end. I used sparkle sugar on the top to sweeten it up a little. Baked it in a tealoaf pan. YUM! and soooo good for you. My daughter is now asking for her 4th piece! Thanks AR and ELEMMIRE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Pretty good recipe. I took the liberty of making a few changes though, of course. I added about 3/4 C of applesauce and used 2 whole eggs instead of the egg whites and used about 1.5 to 2 Cups of frozen blueberries. I also did half white and half wheat flour. At first bite, they seemed a little bland, but by the next day they started to taste better. I might add a crumble topping next time, just to give them a little something extra. I love this recipe though- great way to use up those bananas and clean the freezer of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Amazing! Followed the recipe exactly, only using two whole eggs instead of egg whites. They were much more like regular muffins than I expected. They are very moist. I would take them out of the tin and on to drying rack to avoid them getting soggy. Great way to get nutrition. If you want sweet delicate muffins, this isn't the right recipe- but if you are looking for a way to have a muffin you can enjoy every morsel of and have no guilt eating a second one. Make these daily!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Pennock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Was really easy to make and loved that there was no butter. Instead of egg whites, I did 1 egg and 5 bananas (about 2 cups) and a little bit of milk (a little less than 1/4 cup), which made the batter really moist. My co-workers loved them. They are only good first two days, then they start to get soggy and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckymom
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Ok. I agree with some past reviewers that there is something missing? I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1C white flour and 2 whole eggs instead of 4 whites. Tastes very healthy and flavor isn't bad but I may add just a bit of oil or even butter with maybe some honey if I make these again. Thanks for the recipe though, I needed to use up a few bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennebunk, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States