Banana Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
If these were titled, "healthy" I would have given it 4 stars. They're definitely a little bland, but if you want a healthy non greasy muffin, this is it. I used 2 eggs bc didn't want to waste 4. I did sprinkle cin/sugar on top (before baking) like others suggested but it wasn't strong enough. If I make these again, I won't add the topping, but I will split a hot muffin (after baking) and sprinkle cin/sug in it before eating. The more blueberries, the sweeter, so don't skimp! In my oven these rose nicely and were done after 18-19 minutes. I only got 11 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to add a little milk as the batter was too dry. Also used 2 whole eggs vs. 4 egg whites. I know these are meant to be healthy muffins, but they really need more flavor! Might try again but add some butter and try a brown sugar crumble on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Yum! These are fantastic! Like many raters, I slightly altered the recipe, using whole wheat pastry flour, two whole eggs instead of the whites, and 1/4 cup agave nectar in place of the brown sugar. I baked them at 325 degrees for 20 min. and they came out perfect. They rose beautifully and were very moist, with just the right amount of sweetness. I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I love muffins! And I loved this recipe because they are sooo much healthier, I didn't feel guilty eating them! They were dense, obviously because of only whole wheat flour, but they were definitely not dry. Great banana flavour, I did not measure 1 1/2 cups rather I just added 3 bananas. I do think I would try adding more cinnamon next time because I couldn't really taste it enough for my liking. I was worried when I first started adding the bananas and egg whites, that the batter would be really dry, but it ended up just as wet as any other muffin recipe I've used. This is my new go-to recipe when I want a muffin treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
We gobbled these up! They were so yummy! Even the kids loved them. I had to make a second batch to share with our neighbors, and of course they asked for the recipe. Because of the reviews, I was concerned that they might be dry or bland, so I used 1.5 cups blueberries and added 1/2 cup applesauce. They took an extra couple of minutes to bake, but they were amazing. I'm addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
My muffin tin was in storage so I made these just in a 8x8 baking pan and increased the baking time to 35 min. It turned out very well and have remained moist and tasty even 4 days later! I also forgot to put cinnamon in but it still tastes great! Thank you for the healthy alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Evidently some people doesn't realize that muffin batter is THICK. It's suppose to be thick. You're not making cupcakes. I only made 3 changes in making these. I used 2 eggs and 1 cup of WW flour and 1 cup SR flour with 1 teaspoon of baking powder and left off the soda. I baked these in 2 batches. Thirst batch was not sweet enough for my liking, so I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the other batter and these turned out perfect. I'll definitely be making these again, with about 3/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These rock! I split the flour to use half whole wheat, half all purpose; split the sugar to use half turbinado and half white (gave it a little tiny crunch); used 2 whole eggs instead of 4 whites; added some freshly grated nutmeg and a splash of almond extract; and 2 tablespoons of buttermilk to moisten the batter. I also used almost 2 cups of fresh blueberries, lightly dusted in flour to keep them from mushing when baked. Will definitely add this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These muffins are super dry - I had to add a half cup of milk at the end which made them overmixed and tough. If you add some liquid in before you mix the wet ingredients in, though, I bet they'd be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Just OK...needs 1/4 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cup blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elijahsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States