Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are INCREDIBLE. They made my house smell like lavender while they were baking! I'll be hinting that I want for these for my Mother's Day breakfast........The muffin cups will be almost full, but don't let that scare you--the recipe is perfect, instructions are perfect, just make sure you like lavender if you make these. The taste is not overpowering, but you can tell that it's there (and I love it!). Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We absolutely LOVED these muffins! They have everything in them we like; Blueberries, bananas and just a hint of lavendar. And, yet they are not dense and heavy. I made them per the recipe with no changes, except my blueberries were from my freezer and I added them frozen. Also, I used a corn oil/canola oil blend. I will make again for sure! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are so moist and yummy! I only made a couple of changes, reduced sugar to 3/4 cup, substituted applesauce for oil and upped the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups!! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! I also used frozen berries and thawed bananas that I had previously frozen for smoothies. ~Linda from Cedar Hills, Ut~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this true to the recipe and they are perfect. Very moist with just the right amount of lavender. My 4 little girls love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
OH. MY. GOSH. I am not normally a muffin person, but WOW. I will make these again, and again, and again. I used 2 tsp. lavender flowers. While using frozen blueberries is ok, use fresh if they are in season - it's worth it! I also used 2% milk. Make sure your bananas are beginning to brown, and use 2-3 regular-sized or 2 very large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Wow! These muffins are heavenly. My kitchen smelled AMAZING! This was my first time cooking with lavender and I am mighty glad I did! I didn't have overly ripe bananas so I browned the bananas myself in the oven. I placed 2 bananas on a foil lined baking sheet and baked at 275 degrees for about 30 minutes. I ground the lavender buds in my small coffee grinder. I substituted buttermilk for the 1% milk because I just happened to have buttermilk. I used frozen blueberries that I removed from the freezer at the last minute so they didn't have much time to thaw. I will be making these muffins again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I was looking for recipes to use some of the lavender that grows in our garden. Happened to have an abundance of blueberries in the freezer and plenty of very ripe bananas on the counter so this was perfect. My husband, daughter, and I all loved them. The 2 youngest kids were not big fans. Perhaps a more sophisticated palette than one belonging to a 7 year-old is required. I found the lavender to be subtle but delicious, especially as it enhanced the smell of the product and left a lingering taste on the tongue. My husband thought they were really good and was surprised when I told him that they contained lavender. I found them to not be overly sweet and thought that the fruits/herb provided a nice balance of flavors without any one standing out more than the others. Will make again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbilak
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I had some bananas past prime and had just purchased blueberries today at the market. Went looking for a recipe to use both and found this one.I just happen to grow a big patch of lavender! These muffins are easy and delicious.I will make them again. The lavender sends it out of the ordinary to extraordinary. Impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Half of my family is lactose intolerant so I use unsweetened almond milk in place of regular milk but besides that I stick to the recipes if I rate them. This recipe deserves all five stars, moist, tasty, the three flavors are a wonderful compliment to each other. I have played with the recipe for fun and found many wonderful variations of this one, so if you need to make a change here of there this recipe is very forgiving and should still come out great. Thank you, Suzanne, for this wonderful, great and unique take on blueberry muffins. They are perfect!!! We eat these a few times a month and will continue to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These turned out beautifully!! I have never used lavender for baking before, and it was so amazing! It gave these muffins a very nice taste and they smelled good too. I had bees trying to get in through the kitchen window. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States