Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are INCREDIBLE. They made my house smell like lavender while they were baking! I'll be hinting that I want for these for my Mother's Day breakfast........The muffin cups will be almost full, but don't let that scare you--the recipe is perfect, instructions are perfect, just make sure you like lavender if you make these. The taste is not overpowering, but you can tell that it's there (and I love it!). Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We absolutely LOVED these muffins! They have everything in them we like; Blueberries, bananas and just a hint of lavendar. And, yet they are not dense and heavy. I made them per the recipe with no changes, except my blueberries were from my freezer and I added them frozen. Also, I used a corn oil/canola oil blend. I will make again for sure! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this true to the recipe and they are perfect. Very moist with just the right amount of lavender. My 4 little girls love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
OH. MY. GOSH. I am not normally a muffin person, but WOW. I will make these again, and again, and again. I used 2 tsp. lavender flowers. While using frozen blueberries is ok, use fresh if they are in season - it's worth it! I also used 2% milk. Make sure your bananas are beginning to brown, and use 2-3 regular-sized or 2 very large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are so moist and yummy! I only made a couple of changes, reduced sugar to 3/4 cup, substituted applesauce for oil and upped the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups!! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! I also used frozen berries and thawed bananas that I had previously frozen for smoothies. ~Linda from Cedar Hills, Ut~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wishing I had more overripe bananas to use! These are absolutely delicious! I varied the recipe only slightly: 1) Used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup since the fruit adds plenty of sweetness, 2) Subbed out 1/2 the oil and used unsweetened applesauce instead, 3) added a tiny dash of vanilla. These muffins did not have a strong banana flavor, so if you're looking for that you may need to adjust the quantity of banana. I prefer it with only mild banana flavor though, and thought the blueberry and lavender added such a nice, fresh touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
New Favorite Blueberry Muffin Recipe. Amazing. Think I'll use more lavender next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fumi06
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These turned out wonderfully! The only change I made (this is Allrecipes, of course I didn't fully follow the recipe) was using whole milk instead of 1%, because that is what I normally drink, and I figured it wouldn't detract from the recipe. (Not worth buying one of the pint-sized 1% containers at the grocery store nearby or hunting for a smaller 1% container at a different store.) Southern all-purpose flour (like White Lily) is better than northern all-purpose flour (like Gold Medal) for making fluffier, lighter baked goods like biscuits, but given the banana component of this recipe (and my preference for dense, gluteny muffins over cakey muffins), I went with northern flour. My girlfriend had vanilla sugar (white sugar infused with some vanilla flavor by putting vanilla beans in it for a while) she made on hand, so we sprinkled some on top of the muffins, and it made a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love muffins but these weren't the best. They had a good flavor but were crazy dense and heavy. I am not sure what I did wrong but they were as heavy as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These turned out beautifully!! I have never used lavender for baking before, and it was so amazing! It gave these muffins a very nice taste and they smelled good too. I had bees trying to get in through the kitchen window. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States