Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These were moist, and the texture was good. I like lavender, blueberries and bananas, but the flavors combined were just a bit off. I think it's just a personal preference, nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I didn't add lavender. I was looking for a good banana blueberry muffin recipe and decided to try this one despite the call for lavender, which I didn't have. My boyfriend eats two at a time. My kids ate 'em. They were good and I liked them. I didn't think they were very moist and thought they were pretty dense. But I also just realized that I doubled the recipe and didn't double the banana count. :/ Although, I thought the banana flavor was strong enough using two bananas. I cook, but don't bake enough to know whether or not that would've affected the moisture and density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I won't use as much lavender next time but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The lavender was a nice twist for these moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wishing I had more overripe bananas to use! These are absolutely delicious! I varied the recipe only slightly: 1) Used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup since the fruit adds plenty of sweetness, 2) Subbed out 1/2 the oil and used unsweetened applesauce instead, 3) added a tiny dash of vanilla. These muffins did not have a strong banana flavor, so if you're looking for that you may need to adjust the quantity of banana. I prefer it with only mild banana flavor though, and thought the blueberry and lavender added such a nice, fresh touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
New Favorite Blueberry Muffin Recipe. Amazing. Think I'll use more lavender next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fumi06
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
These turned out wonderfully! The only change I made (this is Allrecipes, of course I didn't fully follow the recipe) was using whole milk instead of 1%, because that is what I normally drink, and I figured it wouldn't detract from the recipe. (Not worth buying one of the pint-sized 1% containers at the grocery store nearby or hunting for a smaller 1% container at a different store.) Southern all-purpose flour (like White Lily) is better than northern all-purpose flour (like Gold Medal) for making fluffier, lighter baked goods like biscuits, but given the banana component of this recipe (and my preference for dense, gluteny muffins over cakey muffins), I went with northern flour. My girlfriend had vanilla sugar (white sugar infused with some vanilla flavor by putting vanilla beans in it for a while) she made on hand, so we sprinkled some on top of the muffins, and it made a great garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love muffins but these weren't the best. They had a good flavor but were crazy dense and heavy. I am not sure what I did wrong but they were as heavy as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These turned out beautifully!! I have never used lavender for baking before, and it was so amazing! It gave these muffins a very nice taste and they smelled good too. I had bees trying to get in through the kitchen window. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Half of my family is lactose intolerant so I use unsweetened almond milk in place of regular milk but besides that I stick to the recipes if I rate them. This recipe deserves all five stars, moist, tasty, the three flavors are a wonderful compliment to each other. I have played with the recipe for fun and found many wonderful variations of this one, so if you need to make a change here of there this recipe is very forgiving and should still come out great. Thank you, Suzanne, for this wonderful, great and unique take on blueberry muffins. They are perfect!!! We eat these a few times a month and will continue to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States