Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are INCREDIBLE. They made my house smell like lavender while they were baking! I'll be hinting that I want for these for my Mother's Day breakfast........The muffin cups will be almost full, but don't let that scare you--the recipe is perfect, instructions are perfect, just make sure you like lavender if you make these. The taste is not overpowering, but you can tell that it's there (and I love it!). Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We absolutely LOVED these muffins! They have everything in them we like; Blueberries, bananas and just a hint of lavendar. And, yet they are not dense and heavy. I made them per the recipe with no changes, except my blueberries were from my freezer and I added them frozen. Also, I used a corn oil/canola oil blend. I will make again for sure! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this true to the recipe and they are perfect. Very moist with just the right amount of lavender. My 4 little girls love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Very nice. The lavender is noticeable, but hubs still liked the muffins. I wasn't sure he would . . . .however, it gives a subtle flavor. without the lavender, I'd definitely add vanilla or cinnamon, but with it was rather lovely. The muffins do not overfill, rise nicely, and are a tad dense but are nice little muffins for breakfast or a snack. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wishing I had more overripe bananas to use! These are absolutely delicious! I varied the recipe only slightly: 1) Used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup since the fruit adds plenty of sweetness, 2) Subbed out 1/2 the oil and used unsweetened applesauce instead, 3) added a tiny dash of vanilla. These muffins did not have a strong banana flavor, so if you're looking for that you may need to adjust the quantity of banana. I prefer it with only mild banana flavor though, and thought the blueberry and lavender added such a nice, fresh touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are so moist and yummy! I only made a couple of changes, reduced sugar to 3/4 cup, substituted applesauce for oil and upped the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups!! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! I also used frozen berries and thawed bananas that I had previously frozen for smoothies. ~Linda from Cedar Hills, Ut~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Half of my family is lactose intolerant so I use unsweetened almond milk in place of regular milk but besides that I stick to the recipes if I rate them. This recipe deserves all five stars, moist, tasty, the three flavors are a wonderful compliment to each other. I have played with the recipe for fun and found many wonderful variations of this one, so if you need to make a change here of there this recipe is very forgiving and should still come out great. Thank you, Suzanne, for this wonderful, great and unique take on blueberry muffins. They are perfect!!! We eat these a few times a month and will continue to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
OH. MY. GOSH. I am not normally a muffin person, but WOW. I will make these again, and again, and again. I used 2 tsp. lavender flowers. While using frozen blueberries is ok, use fresh if they are in season - it's worth it! I also used 2% milk. Make sure your bananas are beginning to brown, and use 2-3 regular-sized or 2 very large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Very moist. I had frozen blueberries and was too impatient to defrost them. I used 2 different pans. One with cupcake liners, and the other in a mini fluted metal cupcake pan without liners. The unlined ones cooked in 20 minutes on 400 degrees in my convection oven. The lined ones are still in at 26 minutes and are still not done. The frozen berries probably effected the moisture level. I tried one and they very mild and lightly sweet. This is my first lavender cooking experience despite having some big lavender bushes in my yard. I'm excited to try it in something savory. These are worth making. A nice change from over sugary muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These were moist, and the texture was good. I like lavender, blueberries and bananas, but the flavors combined were just a bit off. I think it's just a personal preference, nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States