Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These are INCREDIBLE. They made my house smell like lavender while they were baking! I'll be hinting that I want for these for my Mother's Day breakfast........The muffin cups will be almost full, but don't let that scare you--the recipe is perfect, instructions are perfect, just make sure you like lavender if you make these. The taste is not overpowering, but you can tell that it's there (and I love it!). Thank you for sharing such a delightful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We absolutely LOVED these muffins! They have everything in them we like; Blueberries, bananas and just a hint of lavendar. And, yet they are not dense and heavy. I made them per the recipe with no changes, except my blueberries were from my freezer and I added them frozen. Also, I used a corn oil/canola oil blend. I will make again for sure! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this true to the recipe and they are perfect. Very moist with just the right amount of lavender. My 4 little girls love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are so moist and yummy! I only made a couple of changes, reduced sugar to 3/4 cup, substituted applesauce for oil and upped the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups!! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe! I also used frozen berries and thawed bananas that I had previously frozen for smoothies. ~Linda from Cedar Hills, Ut~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Wishing I had more overripe bananas to use! These are absolutely delicious! I varied the recipe only slightly: 1) Used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 cup since the fruit adds plenty of sweetness, 2) Subbed out 1/2 the oil and used unsweetened applesauce instead, 3) added a tiny dash of vanilla. These muffins did not have a strong banana flavor, so if you're looking for that you may need to adjust the quantity of banana. I prefer it with only mild banana flavor though, and thought the blueberry and lavender added such a nice, fresh touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
OH. MY. GOSH. I am not normally a muffin person, but WOW. I will make these again, and again, and again. I used 2 tsp. lavender flowers. While using frozen blueberries is ok, use fresh if they are in season - it's worth it! I also used 2% milk. Make sure your bananas are beginning to brown, and use 2-3 regular-sized or 2 very large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These were moist, and the texture was good. I like lavender, blueberries and bananas, but the flavors combined were just a bit off. I think it's just a personal preference, nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I didn't add lavender. I was looking for a good banana blueberry muffin recipe and decided to try this one despite the call for lavender, which I didn't have. My boyfriend eats two at a time. My kids ate 'em. They were good and I liked them. I didn't think they were very moist and thought they were pretty dense. But I also just realized that I doubled the recipe and didn't double the banana count. :/ Although, I thought the banana flavor was strong enough using two bananas. I cook, but don't bake enough to know whether or not that would've affected the moisture and density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I won't use as much lavender next time but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The lavender was a nice twist for these moist muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States