Banana Blondie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Like the previous reviewer, I was also looking for a chewy cookie. Changes I made: 1 egg, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead of the aspartame, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 1 cup bread flour instead of 2 cups all-purpose flour, cut down the baking powder to 1 tsp, the baking soda to 1/2 tsp, and the milk to 1/2 cup. Oh, and I added some walnuts and chocolate chips. Even with all those changes, the bars still had a cakey texture. Didn't taste like banana bread though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Not a bad recipe, but was extremely similar to what I'd call banana bread. I was expecting more of a bar cookie texture. However, number of eggs needed was left off, so that may change the recipe. I used two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I followed the directions precisely, except replacing the aspartame w/ 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Very yummy! My three-year-old loves it. It does taste a lot like banana bread, but that's fine with me because I really like banana bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty good, although I'd probably call it a banana cake or bars, but who cares what they are called if they taste good, right? :o) These are very moist, and dense, and not that different from banana bread in my opinion, but I've never had dry banana bread so maybe I'm in the minority here. I topped with a vanilla glaze I had in the fridge, and bf liked them but thought that a strawberry frosting would be better with them. I think some more spices, like cinnamon, would make the taste pop more too. He preferred the chocolate cake I made today, but well . . .it's chocolate, and he likes most things with chocolate better anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I thought this was a great recipe, nice and moist easy to make but I added a hint of salt and a few shakes of cinnamon to the dry ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
didn't know how many eggs I had to use. I put three. It tastes good but it may be better with something sweeter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Awesome!!! Great way to use up banana's, I mixed in mini chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We're used to banana bread, this was a refreshing change. Not as strongly flavored, softer and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My son made these and he and his friends liked them, I didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I think this is really good, but I would call it banana bread, it tasted just like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States