Banana Blondie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Like the previous reviewer, I was also looking for a chewy cookie. Changes I made: 1 egg, 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead of the aspartame, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 1 cup bread flour instead of 2 cups all-purpose flour, cut down the baking powder to 1 tsp, the baking soda to 1/2 tsp, and the milk to 1/2 cup. Oh, and I added some walnuts and chocolate chips. Even with all those changes, the bars still had a cakey texture. Didn't taste like banana bread though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Not a bad recipe, but was extremely similar to what I'd call banana bread. I was expecting more of a bar cookie texture. However, number of eggs needed was left off, so that may change the recipe. I used two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I followed the directions precisely, except replacing the aspartame w/ 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Very yummy! My three-year-old loves it. It does taste a lot like banana bread, but that's fine with me because I really like banana bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Pretty good, although I'd probably call it a banana cake or bars, but who cares what they are called if they taste good, right? :o) These are very moist, and dense, and not that different from banana bread in my opinion, but I've never had dry banana bread so maybe I'm in the minority here. I topped with a vanilla glaze I had in the fridge, and bf liked them but thought that a strawberry frosting would be better with them. I think some more spices, like cinnamon, would make the taste pop more too. He preferred the chocolate cake I made today, but well . . .it's chocolate, and he likes most things with chocolate better anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I thought this was a great recipe, nice and moist easy to make but I added a hint of salt and a few shakes of cinnamon to the dry ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
didn't know how many eggs I had to use. I put three. It tastes good but it may be better with something sweeter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Awesome!!! Great way to use up banana's, I mixed in mini chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We're used to banana bread, this was a refreshing change. Not as strongly flavored, softer and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My son made these and he and his friends liked them, I didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I think this is really good, but I would call it banana bread, it tasted just like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States