Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I've gone through a kazillion banana recipes (16 from allrecipes alone) and these were fine, but I recommend others more. Especially since shortening is very unhealthy - if these tasted great, I wouldn't care, but I try to make sure the taste is worth the health effects! Used 1/3 cup b.s. and 2/3 white; 2 bananas; did not make frosting, just sprinkled hot chocolate mix over top, which was good. If you want thick bars, use a 9x9 pan - this goes fairly thin in a 9x13. But, I suggest you make Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins, Banana Cake VI (a real winner), or Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Good basic idea for a recipe. Having to change it this much means it is basically a different recipe entirely which is why I gave this particular version 2 stars, the new and improved version would definitely be a 5. I used 3 small bananas in the bars, I added an egg, I cut back to sugar to 2/3 of a cup, no salt, no lemon juice, no walnuts although they would be nice, my preference is pecans which would also be good. They baked at 350 for 20 minutes. The frosting IMO is too much, just too sweet and not really necessary with the great banana taste of the bars themselves. So I frosted first, then scraped most of it off, leaving a very thin almost glaze like covering, which is how they will be made next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am sure that this is very good in its original state but I used the suggestions of other reviewers & my own. I used butter instead of shortening & only 1/4 cup. I used only brown sugar & cut it to 2/3 of a cup, I used 3 bananas & I added one egg. I also didn't bother frosting it. The bars came out great, I suspect they are fluffier than the original recipe with the help of the egg. I will definately make them again & again! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
These are wonderful, they lasted about 10 minutes at work. A little tip, bake until the center springs back when touched, the toothpick will come out clean before they are really done. I think that is why some of the other reviews complain about not being able to get them out of the pan. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I was a little skeptical at first seeing some 2-3 star reviews, but after tasting I rushed to my pc to write the review! What I did: DOUBLED THE RECIPE (otherwise bars are too thin in 9x13), ADDED AN EXTRA BANANA, ADDED 1 TSP. BANANA EXTRACT TO BATTER AND FROSTING, FOR FROSTING I OMITTED THE SALT AND REPLACED THE VANILLA EXTRACT W/ A HALF TSP. OF MAPLE EXTRACT. MORE BAKE TIME. Results are to die for! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
These are a big hit at my son's daycare! I add more banana to the recipe-at least 2 to 2 1/2 ripe bananas. The first time I used the icing I put it on with a pastry brush. After that I started just serving them without icing at all-they great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
I had some very ripe bananas, and didn't know what to do with them... this was the best banana recipe I have found to date! It is now, of course my favorite! The only problem--- making enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I was looking for a ripened banana recipe when I came across this. I did not want to make a bread. I altered the recipe in the following manner. I had 1% milk only so I added about 3 tablespoons of sour cream to the milk making it measure about one cup. You could probably use all sour cream. I had no shortening which has no flavor anyway so I used Land o Lakes buttery Spread. Not the best choice but it creamed fine. Butter flavored shortening would be good in this I used pecans instead of walnuts because that is all I had. Last of all, I used two small ripened banana which ended up being about one and half after removing the ends and dark spots. They were ripe but not to ripe. They had plenty of texture and firmness to them. I smashed them by hand. LOL. I think these would be great with just a dusting of powdered sugar too. Some ideas for icings: browned butter cream cheese peanut butter (small amount to the frosting recipe given) chocolate Any combination They are cooking up very nicely. I suspect they will be great as the raw mixture was wonderful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family! I just baked them this afternoon and we've all had two pieces already. I substituted whole wheat flour for the white, Splenda for the sugar and cut it by half, butter for the shortening and cut THAT by half. I also used an extra banana and added the cinnamon as so many others had recommended. I omitted the walnuts (son is allergic) and skipped the frosting. They came out so light and tasty!! Very pleased with this recipe and will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Wasn't too crazy about this bar. It tastes good, but it's a little too soft and mushy, which made it hard to cut into bars and remove from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States