Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I was a little skeptical at first seeing some 2-3 star reviews, but after tasting I rushed to my pc to write the review! What I did: DOUBLED THE RECIPE (otherwise bars are too thin in 9x13), ADDED AN EXTRA BANANA, ADDED 1 TSP. BANANA EXTRACT TO BATTER AND FROSTING, FOR FROSTING I OMITTED THE SALT AND REPLACED THE VANILLA EXTRACT W/ A HALF TSP. OF MAPLE EXTRACT. MORE BAKE TIME. Results are to die for! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made these into cupcakes and I am very happy! I made a few substitutions, I used butter instead of shortening, but added an egg to give it the structure it would lose not using shortening, and I used brown sugar- which is something I do in over half my recipes because I prefer the taste. I also added extra banana! They were excellent! Moist and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
There were delicious. I never actually put any frosting on them because they're sweet enough as it is. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 of a cup and that was plenty. They pretty much taste like banana bread... only yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I didn't care for these. The bars were pretty bland with a very sweet topping. Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
GREAT FOR BANANA LOVERS!!! These are SO yummy!!!! I did add an egg and a couple dashes of cinnamon to the batter and it came out PERFECT!!!! The frosting was very good with double the banana. My bananas were VERY very ripe. No need to cut the brown spots off, it just adds more banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These are amazing. Everyone who has tried it really likes it! I think the frosting turned out to be more of a thicker glaze, but it's still incredibly good. To reiterate what other users have posted, the frosting is a necessity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
SO DELICIOUS! I would either cook in a smaller pan or double the recipe to make them thicker. Other than that they were wonderful, and the FROSTING IS NECESSARY. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This turned out great! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I was expecting to make "bars" not cake like dessert. The flavor was ok but the texture is weird. My kids didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy!! I made these to use up some old bananas. My husband took them to work and his co-workers loved them and were asking for the recipe. The only change I made was to substitute applesauce for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States