Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ladygrenadine
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were so easy to make! 2 minor changes though, I doubled the banana, used 2 in the bar and 1 in the icing! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladygrenadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
In our house we call this banana cake. It is much more of a cake than a bar. After you make this you will ever want to make banana bread again. this recipe is amazing. I use three bananas instead of one and my family does not like walnuts so i leave those out. I have tried it with no icing, the banana icing, chocolate icing and brown butter icing, and it is good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used margarine instead of shortening and soymilk instead of regular milk and cut out the nuts. They tasted really good, but they were more like cake than bar cookies. They seemed to turn a little brown after sitting out for a while so they probably need to be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Kids loved it. Doubled recipe and used 5 bananas. All else as written. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Good recipe when you only have a couple ripe bananas. I would have preferred something denser from a "bar" recipe. But my family enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eristrawberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I did recipe almost exactly as submitted except for the following: *I only had 1% milk, so I added a couple of T. of sour cream. *Sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry mixture. *Used 1 1/2 bananas in the batter. I made these last night and all but one bar (that I am saving for my hubby) were eaten by 7pm! My mom went crazy over these and my friend kept saying "delicious" over and over. This is an awesome recipe and is one of the few that I have found that calls for only two bananas- which is perfect if you only have a few you are trying to use up. This is a keeper and I will be making again- in fact, I plan on buying some bananas right away for the purpose of letting them ripen for this recipe! I loved the texture and the icing is heavenly with the taste of the fresh banana. If you wanted to do a lighter version you wouldn't have to have the icing, but, man, is it good! Great submission!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
We love love this recipe. My husband wrinkled his nose the first time because I put bananas in the frosting, but it must not have mattered because he ate more than half of the pan! I substitute the vanilla in the bar recipe for 1/2 banana extract and 1/2 vanilla and put banana extract in the frosting. I use a pampered chef stone for baking. The bars come out perfectly done every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These turned out great! Very moist! I didn't use the icing in the recipe -- I made my own cream cheese icing. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theproudtexan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wonderfully good! Was a great recipe for those bananas sitting on the counter that needed to be used. I did add 2 eggs to make a little more fluffy. Also, I added some coco to the icing. They were great. One word of advise they do not keep well, unless left overs are placed in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States