Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was just okay for me. Edible, but not something I'd like to take to anyone's house. The frosting was on the sweet side and I like sweet! It was a cake, not bars. I'd rather use my turning bananas in the Creamy Banana Bread recipe from this site. It is so much more rewarding in my oppinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
These were ok, I have other recipes that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
The cake recipe was very good but, the frosting was just too heavy and sweet for me. The banana flavor really came through. As suggested by others, I added an egg and used cake flour instead of all purpose. I will make again with a different frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
DELICIOUS! The only thing I changed was to omit the walnuts and add an egg. It was absolutely wonderful! My husband wanted to eat the whole pan. Thanks for a great recipe! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Awesome! I used butter in place of shortening, added an egg, another 1/2 banana and an additional 1/3 cup flour to cake. These are very sweet but oh so yummy! Will def make again and I have already been asked to pass recipe along. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great bars, however the frosting did not make nearly enough in my opinion...had to spread very very thin, sprinkled lots of walnuts on top to hide the lack of frosting. Next time I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I LOVE THESE! I seriously could eat the entire batch because they are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I loved these bars! Brought a pan to work and they were gone within 20 minutes! I made one small change, I added cherries and crushed pineapple to the frosting. Will make these again whenever I have ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladygrenadine
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were so easy to make! 2 minor changes though, I doubled the banana, used 2 in the bar and 1 in the icing! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladygrenadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
In our house we call this banana cake. It is much more of a cake than a bar. After you make this you will ever want to make banana bread again. this recipe is amazing. I use three bananas instead of one and my family does not like walnuts so i leave those out. I have tried it with no icing, the banana icing, chocolate icing and brown butter icing, and it is good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States