Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is o.k. I think I'm looking for a banana bar with some spice to it, I baked it for 30 min instead of 20min, but my family didn't think it was great so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good. Skipped the frosing, dusted with powdered sugar. I used 2 bananas, rice milk, no nuts, applesauce instead of shortening, a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, some freshly grated nutmeg, and 1 Tbs ground flax seed mixed w/3 Tbs water (some reveiwers mentioned adding an egg, this is my normal substitute.)I used a 9 X 7 pan and baked for 25 minutes. The "bars" (really just a "snack" cake) came out moist, springy and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I can't rate the cake itself because I'm giving it to my parents, but I can tell you that it was easy to make, it smells wonderful and it looks beautiful in the pan! I used a 7x11 pan so it is a little thicker and I also added an extra banana and the last egg I had in the refrigerator to use it up. I did taste the frosting and it's sweet, but isn't frosting supposed to be? But since I'm not a frosting lover I only used about 1/2 of it. It has wonderful banana flavor though. I am going to let a batch of bananas turn this weekend so that I can make it again, this time for us, and will come back to rate the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
this was very good i only added an extra banana. very moist! good stuff thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
they were..ok....kids did not really take to them & neither did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Used 1/2C honey and about 1/3C sugar, and two bananas. Had fresh lime juice on hand, so used that in place of lemon. Baked in an 8x8" pan and wouldn't want to try it in a 13x9". The frosting is awesome. We were very pleased with these bars, but I think the honey definitely kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best!! I have made them several times and always get raves. I use pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I prefer and always double the recipe for a 9x13 pan. Also use applesauce for half if not all of shortening with great results. Better if made the night before. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surgerygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were really good. I used 2 bananas, no lemon juice or walnuts. I didn't make the frosting. The bars are very sweet, and I don't think they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was very easy to make, and tasted good. The only change I made was to add a whole banana to the icing because I didn't want to have half a ripe banana left over. The cake was a little dry, so I may add some sour cream next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This should really be called banana cake not banana bars. It is definitely more like cake. This was a huge hit for Easter Sunday-a little crumbly and messy but tasted awesome.I did not have shortening so I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States