Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was an exceptional recipe. The only changes I made was based on other reviews comments, such as adding 2 bananas instead of 1. This made the banana flavor really come alive. The finished product was like banana bread with more fluffiness. No frosting is needed to make this recipe fantastic as it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was a very tasty recipe, though I followed some of the recommendations in the comments. I used butter instead of shortening and had 4 small very ripe bananas on hand, so used all of them. I also used brown sugar instead of white and left out the lemon juice. Also, I did not glaze or frost these. In fact, I would reduce the sugar on these next time to about 1/2 cup. I prefer things less sweet. I had to bake an additional 10 minutes to get them done all the way. Probably due to the extra bananas. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is o.k. I think I'm looking for a banana bar with some spice to it, I baked it for 30 min instead of 20min, but my family didn't think it was great so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good. Skipped the frosing, dusted with powdered sugar. I used 2 bananas, rice milk, no nuts, applesauce instead of shortening, a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, some freshly grated nutmeg, and 1 Tbs ground flax seed mixed w/3 Tbs water (some reveiwers mentioned adding an egg, this is my normal substitute.)I used a 9 X 7 pan and baked for 25 minutes. The "bars" (really just a "snack" cake) came out moist, springy and delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I can't rate the cake itself because I'm giving it to my parents, but I can tell you that it was easy to make, it smells wonderful and it looks beautiful in the pan! I used a 7x11 pan so it is a little thicker and I also added an extra banana and the last egg I had in the refrigerator to use it up. I did taste the frosting and it's sweet, but isn't frosting supposed to be? But since I'm not a frosting lover I only used about 1/2 of it. It has wonderful banana flavor though. I am going to let a batch of bananas turn this weekend so that I can make it again, this time for us, and will come back to rate the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
this was very good i only added an extra banana. very moist! good stuff thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
they were..ok....kids did not really take to them & neither did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Used 1/2C honey and about 1/3C sugar, and two bananas. Had fresh lime juice on hand, so used that in place of lemon. Baked in an 8x8" pan and wouldn't want to try it in a 13x9". The frosting is awesome. We were very pleased with these bars, but I think the honey definitely kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
These are the best!! I have made them several times and always get raves. I use pecans instead of walnuts because that is what I prefer and always double the recipe for a 9x13 pan. Also use applesauce for half if not all of shortening with great results. Better if made the night before. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surgerygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were really good. I used 2 bananas, no lemon juice or walnuts. I didn't make the frosting. The bars are very sweet, and I don't think they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States