Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful change from banana bread! Was kinda scared due to some of the ratings but these were DELICIOUS! I used 2 bananas and substitued brown sugar for the white. Would be just great without the icing will add golden raisins next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We absolutely love these!! So much in fact that I made a second pan of them this afternoon after the first I made disapeared within 48 hours. One thing that I did differently on the second batch is cut the frosting in half adding a bit more lemon juice as it was a bit too sweet for our tastes with all of the recipe's frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and easy to prepare. What more could a cook as for? I didn't like the idea of banana in the frosting, so I left out the banana and the salt, then added a little milk to thin out the frosting to more of a glaze consistency. My husband just loves them. Great recipe. Definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These bars are really yummy! It is hard to eat just one!! Next time I make them I will add golden raisins (or regular raisins) to the recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I've made these banana bars twice in two days for two groups of people and people raved. I'm keeping it in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were ok, the taste, though, was a little too bananaey, and it kind of made me sick. I'd rather make banana bread with my ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Very easy to make! Excellent and light! Added extra banana to the batter and some brown sugar. Next time would add less sugar. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I thought these were good but not anything special. I considered this recipe more of a cake than cookies or bars and the frosting was a little too sweet. I was suprised to find out that one of my kids thought this was just okay and the other one did not like at all. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
These cookies are so good! They are easy to make, and uses ingredients you have on hand. I added about a tablespoon of brown sugar and a tsp of cinnamon to my batter just because I think those things go so well with bananas anyway. I didn't want a thick frosting on my cookie, so when I made the frosting I added milk to it until it resembled a thicker type of glaze, and drizzled that with a fork over the uncut cooking. I then covered with foil and put them in the fridge, and my family just cuts off a piece when they want some. Thanks, Lori for a great new recipie! I might try to add some other ripe mashed fruit to the batter next time (like strawberries or raspberries, even blueberries when they're in season) and just adjust the sugar content accordingly. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! I had some leftover bananas yesterday and came searching for a recipe. I tried this one and it was so, so good!! My family loved them and my 2 year old daughter enjoyed helping me frost them. Thank you SO MUCH!! This recipe will stay be going in my "keepers" file and will be made again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States