Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
No eggs, no baking powder required! :) Used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar vs. 1 cup white sugar, buttermilk vs. milk, added 1/2 tspn cinnamon, omitted nuts, upped bananas from 1 to 2 1/2 & used an electric mixer to blend. Too lazy for icing! Tastes great! Might try more sugar & cinnamon next time...very bready flat bar. Ono recipe - my version wasn't overtly sweet as some reviews had claimed. Might try orange zest next time...?! ALOHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
These were OK. Not really what I was expecting. I think it would be better if the cake were more bananaey and then a nice lemon icing on top IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful change from banana bread! Was kinda scared due to some of the ratings but these were DELICIOUS! I used 2 bananas and substitued brown sugar for the white. Would be just great without the icing will add golden raisins next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We absolutely love these!! So much in fact that I made a second pan of them this afternoon after the first I made disapeared within 48 hours. One thing that I did differently on the second batch is cut the frosting in half adding a bit more lemon juice as it was a bit too sweet for our tastes with all of the recipe's frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and easy to prepare. What more could a cook as for? I didn't like the idea of banana in the frosting, so I left out the banana and the salt, then added a little milk to thin out the frosting to more of a glaze consistency. My husband just loves them. Great recipe. Definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
These bars are really yummy! It is hard to eat just one!! Next time I make them I will add golden raisins (or regular raisins) to the recipe. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I've made these banana bars twice in two days for two groups of people and people raved. I'm keeping it in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
These were ok, the taste, though, was a little too bananaey, and it kind of made me sick. I'd rather make banana bread with my ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Very easy to make! Excellent and light! Added extra banana to the batter and some brown sugar. Next time would add less sugar. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I thought these were good but not anything special. I considered this recipe more of a cake than cookies or bars and the frosting was a little too sweet. I was suprised to find out that one of my kids thought this was just okay and the other one did not like at all. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 121-130 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States