Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Surprisingly good considering there are no eggs. I didn't even use any frosting..just ate it plain..like a banana bread. Yummy! Changes I made: I added some cinnamon, and I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time will try using margarine instead of the shortening. A keeper, especially when I have an over-ripe banana just sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
They were wonderful. A complete success in my house. (They were gone in half a day) I listened to the other reviewers and added 3 bananas instead of 1. I used butter instead of shortening (and halved it). I also only used 2/3 a cup of sugar. I also added an egg. Also, didn't have lemon juice...and it didn't seem to matter. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I was looking for an alternative to banana bread and was pleased with this recipe. I baked them in a smaller pan for a more cake-like bar and mixed the frosting with whipped cream to make it fluffier. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The banana icing was very rich, but tasty. However, the bars just didn't have enough banana flavor for my liking. I notice that some reviewers added more bananas to the recipe, and I wish I would have. The recipe was a bit disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Mmm Mmm! These are delicious! I made a few changes, using half as much butter instead of shortening, swapping some brown sugar for part of the regular sugar, and upping the bananas to 2 1/2 instead of just one. They are wonderful! The banana in the icing makes a delicious change of taste. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The bars were good, but the same as any banana bread recipe. The frosting was very salty. I would have omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This has become one of those recipes that my teenage sons beg for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was yummy! I did an egg though, because I couldn't imagine that it didn't have any. So moist, and the frosting was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
No eggs, no baking powder required! :) Used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar vs. 1 cup white sugar, buttermilk vs. milk, added 1/2 tspn cinnamon, omitted nuts, upped bananas from 1 to 2 1/2 & used an electric mixer to blend. Too lazy for icing! Tastes great! Might try more sugar & cinnamon next time...very bready flat bar. Ono recipe - my version wasn't overtly sweet as some reviews had claimed. Might try orange zest next time...?! ALOHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
These were OK. Not really what I was expecting. I think it would be better if the cake were more bananaey and then a nice lemon icing on top IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States