Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Phenomenal! I really enjoyed this recipe! I used 3 bananas for the cake and a whole banana for the frosting. Added about 1tsp cinnamon, as I always do with banana bread recipes. The frosting was more of a glaze for me, which I think may actually be better...not so thick and rich. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Good basic idea for a recipe. Having to change it this much means it is basically a different recipe entirely which is why I gave this particular version 2 stars, the new and improved version would definitely be a 5. I used 3 small bananas in the bars, I added an egg, I cut back to sugar to 2/3 of a cup, no salt, no lemon juice, no walnuts although they would be nice, my preference is pecans which would also be good. They baked at 350 for 20 minutes. The frosting IMO is too much, just too sweet and not really necessary with the great banana taste of the bars themselves. So I frosted first, then scraped most of it off, leaving a very thin almost glaze like covering, which is how they will be made next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLLEWIS1214
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Definitely a keeper! I loved the recipe and my kids devoured 2 of them right away. I did make changes based on previous reviews. I replaced shortening with 1/4 cup butter. Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Added 1 egg. Used 2 ripe bananas. Added 1/4 tsp cinnamon. For the frosting I only needed 1 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar and omitted the salt. They just turned out so good and moist. The frosting adds a perfect touch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEWIS1214

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Very tasty and super moist. I followed the recommendations of others: used butter (1/4 cup) in place of the shortening, used more bananas (3 small) and added an egg and a teaspoon of cinnamon. We did not even bother with the icing - they were a huge hit without it. Thanks for another great way to use up my VERY ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
great recipe i really enjoy banana bread but this was a great variation on a sweet favorite. It was gone before I knew it next time will double the recipe for my large family. I added a little more banana than called for and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Surprisingly good considering there are no eggs. I didn't even use any frosting..just ate it plain..like a banana bread. Yummy! Changes I made: I added some cinnamon, and I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time will try using margarine instead of the shortening. A keeper, especially when I have an over-ripe banana just sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
They were wonderful. A complete success in my house. (They were gone in half a day) I listened to the other reviewers and added 3 bananas instead of 1. I used butter instead of shortening (and halved it). I also only used 2/3 a cup of sugar. I also added an egg. Also, didn't have lemon juice...and it didn't seem to matter. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I was looking for an alternative to banana bread and was pleased with this recipe. I baked them in a smaller pan for a more cake-like bar and mixed the frosting with whipped cream to make it fluffier. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The banana icing was very rich, but tasty. However, the bars just didn't have enough banana flavor for my liking. I notice that some reviewers added more bananas to the recipe, and I wish I would have. The recipe was a bit disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Mmm Mmm! These are delicious! I made a few changes, using half as much butter instead of shortening, swapping some brown sugar for part of the regular sugar, and upping the bananas to 2 1/2 instead of just one. They are wonderful! The banana in the icing makes a delicious change of taste. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States