Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Really good and moist. I would either double the recipe or put it in a smaller pan because they were kind of thin. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
this recipe was absolutely AMAZING! everyone went crazy over it - makes a great breakfast too! the home-made icing fabulous..if you love bananas - you HAVE to try this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I was looking for a ripened banana recipe when I came across this. I did not want to make a bread. I altered the recipe in the following manner. I had 1% milk only so I added about 3 tablespoons of sour cream to the milk making it measure about one cup. You could probably use all sour cream. I had no shortening which has no flavor anyway so I used Land o Lakes buttery Spread. Not the best choice but it creamed fine. Butter flavored shortening would be good in this I used pecans instead of walnuts because that is all I had. Last of all, I used two small ripened banana which ended up being about one and half after removing the ends and dark spots. They were ripe but not to ripe. They had plenty of texture and firmness to them. I smashed them by hand. LOL. I think these would be great with just a dusting of powdered sugar too. Some ideas for icings: browned butter cream cheese peanut butter (small amount to the frosting recipe given) chocolate Any combination They are cooking up very nicely. I suspect they will be great as the raw mixture was wonderful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
These were pretty-goos, but a smaller baking pan would have been a better idea because the bars were slightly thin. Also, the icing was tastey, but it was overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family! I just baked them this afternoon and we've all had two pieces already. I substituted whole wheat flour for the white, Splenda for the sugar and cut it by half, butter for the shortening and cut THAT by half. I also used an extra banana and added the cinnamon as so many others had recommended. I omitted the walnuts (son is allergic) and skipped the frosting. They came out so light and tasty!! Very pleased with this recipe and will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These are really good and really easy to make. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I am sure that this is very good in its original state but I used the suggestions of other reviewers & my own. I used butter instead of shortening & only 1/4 cup. I used only brown sugar & cut it to 2/3 of a cup, I used 3 bananas & I added one egg. I also didn't bother frosting it. The bars came out great, I suspect they are fluffier than the original recipe with the help of the egg. I will definately make them again & again! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Love These Banana Bars! Hubby gave it a 10 - He never gives anything a 10 so that says a lot. I doubled the recipe and used 1 extra banana in the batter, baked it in an 11x13 pan. The frosting came out wonderful, a bit runny right out of the food processor but a few minutes in the fridge fixed it right up. Other than the extra banana, I followed the recipe exactly, fluffy moist and excellent! I will be making these for our next lunch social.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Starkenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venus, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I've gone through a kazillion banana recipes (16 from allrecipes alone) and these were fine, but I recommend others more. Especially since shortening is very unhealthy - if these tasted great, I wouldn't care, but I try to make sure the taste is worth the health effects! Used 1/3 cup b.s. and 2/3 white; 2 bananas; did not make frosting, just sprinkled hot chocolate mix over top, which was good. If you want thick bars, use a 9x9 pan - this goes fairly thin in a 9x13. But, I suggest you make Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins, Banana Cake VI (a real winner), or Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies from this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Moist, delicious. I made mine in two round 8" pans, no frosting. Instead, I cut into wedges and dusted with 3 different toppings; cocoa powder, powdered sugar, cinnamon. Both cakes were gone same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States