Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I LIKE THIS RECIPE, MADE IT LAST NIGHT, BUT THE ICING TURNED VERY HARD ON TOP OF THE CAKE I MADE THEM INTO CUPCAKES AND ADDED SOME STAR SPRINKLES TO GET THE KIDS TO EAT THEM. MY HUSBAND ALSO ENJOYED THEM. KIDS HAVE YET TO TRY THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPER83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is an outstanding recipe, it was one of the hits of our son's graduation open house. Very moist, very sweet, very easy! I didn't use the lemon juice called for because I didn't have any, I don't know how they could have been any better. This ones a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I am only reviewing the icing because i used this to go with banana bread cookies also on this site. I find that there is way too much salt in the icing. I'm not sure i've ever used salt in a icing/frosting before. It was overwhelming. It was also a bit too sweet, and trust me- i like sweet, but this was a little too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The taste is good, but these are more like a cake than a bar. They were not dense enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
As with other reviewers I changed various parts of the recipe (used 1/4 cup butter & 1/4 cup shortening, 1/2 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 large bananas, no lemon juice, no nuts) but in the end, it turned out really well - great flavor and texture! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Excellent. My husband wanted to eat them all at once. A bit sweet, but really good and done so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This was a wonderful recipie. A great dessert and use of rippened bananas. My sister and I ate it right out of the pan! 2 two year olds loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I didn't much care for these. They were just a WAY too sweet version of banana bread IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These were wonderful - dense, moist and sweet. I used an 8x8 pan, whole wheat pastry flour, butter, and extra lemon juice. I think this is something I'll be making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe. Made as recipe states, except for adding another banana to the cake mixture. The icing was a little sweet, but it was still good. This will find a home in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States