Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I'm sort of up in the air as to how many stars to give this recipe. I went w/ 5 because when it comes down to it, I probably could have eaten half the pan and I like that the recipe only calls for one banana...unlike banana bread which usually calls for at least 3.It is a great alternative when you don't have that many around. I didn't make the frosting since I was out of bananas and the bars themselves taste pretty much like banana bread, only a little sweater. I did add about 1 tsp of banana extract along w/ the vanilla. Otherwise, I stayed true to the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is fabulous!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I did add more bananas. I wanted to make this on a large sheet cake pan, so I doubled the recipe and the bananas! I didn't use the icing, because these were delicious with out it! Best Banana bars I have ever had! Thanks for sharing this Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Our family thought these bars were tooth-achingly sweet -- and that wasn't a good thing! I even reduced the sugar in the frosting and that didn't really make a difference. I'll keep looking for a new banana dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was in a pinch before grocery day and needed a recipe for breakfast muffins without eggs. I prepared this batter before I went to bed and made muffins out of it first thing in the morning. They tasted wonderful but the ones we ate right out of the oven completely crumbled in our hands. We had the leftovers later that day and they were much better. Tasted JUST like banana bread but they were very soft and delicate. I altered the recipe just a bit because I was afraid they wouldn't rise properly after sitting in the fridge all night so I included both baking soda and baking powder. I also added about 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring. The batter was a little bit too much for 12 muffins. I filled them too full trying to use it all up and ended up with big flat muffin tops that stuck to the pan. Maybe next time I'll do 2 batches of mini-muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were just so-so for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I LIKE THIS RECIPE, MADE IT LAST NIGHT, BUT THE ICING TURNED VERY HARD ON TOP OF THE CAKE I MADE THEM INTO CUPCAKES AND ADDED SOME STAR SPRINKLES TO GET THE KIDS TO EAT THEM. MY HUSBAND ALSO ENJOYED THEM. KIDS HAVE YET TO TRY THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DPER83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is an outstanding recipe, it was one of the hits of our son's graduation open house. Very moist, very sweet, very easy! I didn't use the lemon juice called for because I didn't have any, I don't know how they could have been any better. This ones a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I am only reviewing the icing because i used this to go with banana bread cookies also on this site. I find that there is way too much salt in the icing. I'm not sure i've ever used salt in a icing/frosting before. It was overwhelming. It was also a bit too sweet, and trust me- i like sweet, but this was a little too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The taste is good, but these are more like a cake than a bar. They were not dense enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
As with other reviewers I changed various parts of the recipe (used 1/4 cup butter & 1/4 cup shortening, 1/2 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 large bananas, no lemon juice, no nuts) but in the end, it turned out really well - great flavor and texture! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seahawk07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States