Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
In our house we call this banana cake. It is much more of a cake than a bar. After you make this you will ever want to make banana bread again. this recipe is amazing. I use three bananas instead of one and my family does not like walnuts so i leave those out. I have tried it with no icing, the banana icing, chocolate icing and brown butter icing, and it is good every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used margarine instead of shortening and soymilk instead of regular milk and cut out the nuts. They tasted really good, but they were more like cake than bar cookies. They seemed to turn a little brown after sitting out for a while so they probably need to be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Kids loved it. Doubled recipe and used 5 bananas. All else as written. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Good recipe when you only have a couple ripe bananas. I would have preferred something denser from a "bar" recipe. But my family enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eristrawberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I did recipe almost exactly as submitted except for the following: *I only had 1% milk, so I added a couple of T. of sour cream. *Sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry mixture. *Used 1 1/2 bananas in the batter. I made these last night and all but one bar (that I am saving for my hubby) were eaten by 7pm! My mom went crazy over these and my friend kept saying "delicious" over and over. This is an awesome recipe and is one of the few that I have found that calls for only two bananas- which is perfect if you only have a few you are trying to use up. This is a keeper and I will be making again- in fact, I plan on buying some bananas right away for the purpose of letting them ripen for this recipe! I loved the texture and the icing is heavenly with the taste of the fresh banana. If you wanted to do a lighter version you wouldn't have to have the icing, but, man, is it good! Great submission!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
We love love this recipe. My husband wrinkled his nose the first time because I put bananas in the frosting, but it must not have mattered because he ate more than half of the pan! I substitute the vanilla in the bar recipe for 1/2 banana extract and 1/2 vanilla and put banana extract in the frosting. I use a pampered chef stone for baking. The bars come out perfectly done every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
These turned out great! Very moist! I didn't use the icing in the recipe -- I made my own cream cheese icing. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theproudtexan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wonderfully good! Was a great recipe for those bananas sitting on the counter that needed to be used. I did add 2 eggs to make a little more fluffy. Also, I added some coco to the icing. They were great. One word of advise they do not keep well, unless left overs are placed in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I was a little skeptical at first seeing some 2-3 star reviews, but after tasting I rushed to my pc to write the review! What I did: DOUBLED THE RECIPE (otherwise bars are too thin in 9x13), ADDED AN EXTRA BANANA, ADDED 1 TSP. BANANA EXTRACT TO BATTER AND FROSTING, FOR FROSTING I OMITTED THE SALT AND REPLACED THE VANILLA EXTRACT W/ A HALF TSP. OF MAPLE EXTRACT. MORE BAKE TIME. Results are to die for! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States