Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Very tasty and super moist. I followed the recommendations of others: used butter (1/4 cup) in place of the shortening, used more bananas (3 small) and added an egg and a teaspoon of cinnamon. We did not even bother with the icing - they were a huge hit without it. Thanks for another great way to use up my VERY ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
great recipe i really enjoy banana bread but this was a great variation on a sweet favorite. It was gone before I knew it next time will double the recipe for my large family. I added a little more banana than called for and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Surprisingly good considering there are no eggs. I didn't even use any frosting..just ate it plain..like a banana bread. Yummy! Changes I made: I added some cinnamon, and I used half white sugar and half brown sugar and next time will try using margarine instead of the shortening. A keeper, especially when I have an over-ripe banana just sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
They were wonderful. A complete success in my house. (They were gone in half a day) I listened to the other reviewers and added 3 bananas instead of 1. I used butter instead of shortening (and halved it). I also only used 2/3 a cup of sugar. I also added an egg. Also, didn't have lemon juice...and it didn't seem to matter. Great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I was looking for an alternative to banana bread and was pleased with this recipe. I baked them in a smaller pan for a more cake-like bar and mixed the frosting with whipped cream to make it fluffier. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The banana icing was very rich, but tasty. However, the bars just didn't have enough banana flavor for my liking. I notice that some reviewers added more bananas to the recipe, and I wish I would have. The recipe was a bit disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Mmm Mmm! These are delicious! I made a few changes, using half as much butter instead of shortening, swapping some brown sugar for part of the regular sugar, and upping the bananas to 2 1/2 instead of just one. They are wonderful! The banana in the icing makes a delicious change of taste. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The bars were good, but the same as any banana bread recipe. The frosting was very salty. I would have omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This has become one of those recipes that my teenage sons beg for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was yummy! I did an egg though, because I couldn't imagine that it didn't have any. So moist, and the frosting was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States