Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
The banana icing was very rich, but tasty. However, the bars just didn't have enough banana flavor for my liking. I notice that some reviewers added more bananas to the recipe, and I wish I would have. The recipe was a bit disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Mmm Mmm! These are delicious! I made a few changes, using half as much butter instead of shortening, swapping some brown sugar for part of the regular sugar, and upping the bananas to 2 1/2 instead of just one. They are wonderful! The banana in the icing makes a delicious change of taste. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The bars were good, but the same as any banana bread recipe. The frosting was very salty. I would have omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This has become one of those recipes that my teenage sons beg for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was yummy! I did an egg though, because I couldn't imagine that it didn't have any. So moist, and the frosting was surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
No eggs, no baking powder required! :) Used butter instead of shortening, 1/2 cup brown sugar vs. 1 cup white sugar, buttermilk vs. milk, added 1/2 tspn cinnamon, omitted nuts, upped bananas from 1 to 2 1/2 & used an electric mixer to blend. Too lazy for icing! Tastes great! Might try more sugar & cinnamon next time...very bready flat bar. Ono recipe - my version wasn't overtly sweet as some reviews had claimed. Might try orange zest next time...?! ALOHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
These were OK. Not really what I was expecting. I think it would be better if the cake were more bananaey and then a nice lemon icing on top IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Wonderful change from banana bread! Was kinda scared due to some of the ratings but these were DELICIOUS! I used 2 bananas and substitued brown sugar for the white. Would be just great without the icing will add golden raisins next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
We absolutely love these!! So much in fact that I made a second pan of them this afternoon after the first I made disapeared within 48 hours. One thing that I did differently on the second batch is cut the frosting in half adding a bit more lemon juice as it was a bit too sweet for our tastes with all of the recipe's frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Delicious and easy to prepare. What more could a cook as for? I didn't like the idea of banana in the frosting, so I left out the banana and the salt, then added a little milk to thin out the frosting to more of a glaze consistency. My husband just loves them. Great recipe. Definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States