Banana Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
As the recipe is written, the bars end up rather thin and slightly dry. That noted, it's a really good recipe and to be honest, I downed the last five bars after my family went to sleep, so they must have been pretty good. I would prepare this again and probably double the batch so the bars are thicker. The volume of frosting is barely enough to cover the bars, so if you like a thicker frosting, consider making making making 50% more frosting than that in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter except I used 1 cup of brown sugar in place of the white sugar. My grandson is allergic to eggs and I am always skeptical of baked goods without them. These bars were dense and moist they disappeared immediately! The banana in the frosting is to die for. I am going to try this same recipe using mashed apple pie filling in the bars and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetobake
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Sooo good! Easy and turn out wonderfully! I used all butter, rather than shortening, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. That is what I would prefer each time, but this time I also had to substitute maple syrup for vanilla and orange juice for the lemon juice because I didn't have either. They were rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Easy, quick and really good!! I made it to take for a dinner we were invited for and everyone ate seconds! I used two bananas instead of one as I wanted a strong banana taste, and I used pecans not walnuts! Otherwise I followed the directions as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe and and can't find any eggs is this recipe. I did put some in as I had other recipes and they all had eggs in them, otherwise it is a very good recipe and the frosting with the banana is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My husband just said, "Man are these good!" Did not cahange a thing but I did add chopped pecans to top of batter before baking (did not have wlanuts). This recipe is easy and delicious!e
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANG2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
OH MY GOD!! These are OUTSTANDING!! I took the advice of some of the other reviews and did 2/3 c Brown Sugar, 1 Egg, and 2 Bananas. For the icing (even though some people said it was better without it) I cut the powdered sugar down to 1 cup (to prevent it from being SUPER sweet) and added a bit more banana (about 3/4) to the icing. My god, this was FANTASTIC! However, because it is autumn and pumpkin is what is eaten around this time, I made this again using 1 c Fresh Pumpkin Puree, 3/4 tsp Clove, 1/2 tsp Allspice, a Heaping tsp of Cinnamon, and 3/4 tsp of Nutmeg and it came out EVEN BETTER THAN THE BANANA!! :D Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I absolutely loved these! I was a bit afraid to make them after all of the horrible reviews but They were phenominal! I will definietly make these again. I decreased the shortening to 1/4+1/2 of a 1/4 cup butter, decreased the sugar to 1/3+1/2 of a 1/3 cup, added an egg, used whole wheat flour, used 3 bananas, and omitted the lemon juice and walnuts. Yummy! I also only made 1/2 of the frosting and used a whole banana in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie_271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Needs a lot of tweeking. I added an egg like many suggested, my suggestion would be to either double the recipe for a 13 x 9 pan or bake in an 8 x 8 pan, way thin in the suggested pan. I would also add a half teaspoon of banana extract. I made my own frosting - a maple banana cream cheese icing, it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States