Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
In reading the other reviews, I decided to replace the original recipe with 1 1/2 c. Flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon and I decided to add in a little vanilla for extra flavor. I cooked it for 60 minutes, and it turned out amazing. Soft, crunchy outside, a nice, moist inside, and the overall yum effect!! When it was done, there were little chunks of banana, which brought out the overall banana bread meaning. I made this with my mother and she couldn't have agreed more. This is a fun to bake, delicious treat that you should try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
2 stars first attempt; 4 1/2 stars 2nd attempt FIRST ATTEMPT: I could not get the center done without the outside burning. I ended up scooping out the raw batter and baking for a few more minutes. SECOND ATTEMPT: I used 4 instead of 5 medium bananas and added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, chopped pecans and because I live at high altitude, an additional skimpy 1/4 cup flour. The baking temperature was lowered to 300*. NOW THIS IS BANANA BREAD!! It tastes like the one we used to get at the Peppermill restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very yummy!! Definitely full of banana flavor which is what banana bread is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Not bad, didn't use as many onions, added red & yellow peppers all cut up into small chunks. You must use pickling salt NOT table salt. Rinse well. I put in boiling water bath for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this recipe as written with the following exceptions: I only used 3 bananas because that's all I had and I tossed in some pecans. It was dense, but tasty! Family polished it off in less than 2 days. This might not be my faaaavorite recipe, but it was definitely a good one that didn't have me hunting down tons of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Lovee it!!! I put one egg instead of two and added some milk in replacement! Makes it a lot lighter and I also added dried cranberries and coconut on the top! So good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cbakerd3
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Very good recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe says. I like that it doesn't have an overly banana-y flavor but is still very moist. When I make this again I will probably add a few spices- cinnamon, nutmeg, etc, and some walnuts. I may try a crumble topping on top and I have a sweet tooth so I may add a little more sugar but for the average person the amount called for is probably about right. It's a great base recipe though that you really can't go wrong with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe many times, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Freitus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This banana bread was super good- just the perfect consistency (not too moist, not too dry) and taste (not too bread-y, not too banana-y.) I baked it for a slightly shorter time- 55 minutes- and it came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Second time I used this recipe and we LOVED it each time! Disappeared within a day. I just guessed and used 5 bananas (they could've been a bit riper - they were only a medium brown at the time) and followed the other directions exactly. The bread comes out moist and very dense and banana-ey. If you make banana bread and have a certain way to make it, try going out of your comfort zone and giving this recipe a shot. Don't overmix it and watch it in the oven and you'll be so glad you did. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 8,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States