Banana Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I tried this recipe and used baking soda instead of baking powder. It came out really good looking and not moist like others said. I did not care for the taste though. My husband thought it was pretty good but I do not think I am going to make this one again. I gave it a good try and it worked but my taste buds thought diffrent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April JoAnn Salsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
The cake was a hit at the pot luck. I did add more cinnamon and I did put a cinnmon glaze over the top while the cake was still warm. It did rise like my usual angel food cakes but it did taste good. I think that I will enter this one in the fair next fall. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Much Ado about nothing. This cake did not meet my expectations, not very "angel Food" like. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I should have read the reviews first like i usually do. The mistake i made was using baking powder instead of soda due to the instructions. Came out very wet and non angel food like...never making it again i should have used my ripe bananas for banana nut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This recipe sounds good, but is it baking SODA or baking POWDER? Powder is in the ingredients list and Soda is in the written directions. Since this makes a huge difference in a cake, I didn't make this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Tasty and a little bit different but a bit of a challenge to make (for me anyway). Wanted to write this to let people know that 1 1/2 cups of egg whites came to ten egg whites. (Found a recipe for around ten egg yolks - Egg Yolk Sponge Cake at allrecipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
The flavor of this cake was good, but we did not like the consistency of it. Rather than being moist, I would say it was 'wet'. It did not make a hit with the family and it is not a recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
Cake was very moist and came out of a tube pan easily - did not have to use an Angel Cake Pan (I didn't have one). I even made mini's that came out well. Flavor was subtle, texture was nice and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States