Banana Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made using the baking powder not baking soda. Taste was good but texture was too wet to be considered an Angel Food Cake. This was not as dense as a quick bread ( I ground the oatmeal into a flour and sifted all the dry ingredients ) so it is more of a moist banana cake . I will make it again but try baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I tried this recipe and used baking soda instead of baking powder. It came out really good looking and not moist like others said. I did not care for the taste though. My husband thought it was pretty good but I do not think I am going to make this one again. I gave it a good try and it worked but my taste buds thought diffrent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April JoAnn Salsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
The cake was a hit at the pot luck. I did add more cinnamon and I did put a cinnmon glaze over the top while the cake was still warm. It did rise like my usual angel food cakes but it did taste good. I think that I will enter this one in the fair next fall. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Borsick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Much Ado about nothing. This cake did not meet my expectations, not very "angel Food" like. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I should have read the reviews first like i usually do. The mistake i made was using baking powder instead of soda due to the instructions. Came out very wet and non angel food like...never making it again i should have used my ripe bananas for banana nut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This recipe sounds good, but is it baking SODA or baking POWDER? Powder is in the ingredients list and Soda is in the written directions. Since this makes a huge difference in a cake, I didn't make this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Tasty and a little bit different but a bit of a challenge to make (for me anyway). Wanted to write this to let people know that 1 1/2 cups of egg whites came to ten egg whites. (Found a recipe for around ten egg yolks - Egg Yolk Sponge Cake at allrecipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
The flavor of this cake was good, but we did not like the consistency of it. Rather than being moist, I would say it was 'wet'. It did not make a hit with the family and it is not a recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
Cake was very moist and came out of a tube pan easily - did not have to use an Angel Cake Pan (I didn't have one). I even made mini's that came out well. Flavor was subtle, texture was nice and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States