Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. After reading other people's reviews, I decided I needed to add something to sweeten it up. So I took two table spoons of honey, instead of sugar. I also used usual balsamic vinegar and didn't add any herbs so that I can enjoy just the taste of vinegar, black pepper and garlic. Turned out great! My boyfriend commented that this dressing makes him wants to keep eating salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
As suggested by previous reviewers, I added some honey (to taste) to balance the tanginess of the (Alessi) white balsamic vinegar. Just couldn't seem to unpucker the lips after the initial taste test (reason it only rated four stars). No other changes were necessary. Used greens I had on hand, ie., romaine hearts and iceberg lettuce. Threw in some roasted sliced almonds, dried cranberries and some crumbled goat cheese. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This has become a staple vinaigrette for me. I use double the garlic, and it has a nice kick. I usually make double and store it for about a week in the fridge. Thanks Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Good and easy. I added more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Delicious! I poured this over steamed asparagus, then chilled it in the fridge for 2 hours. Quick, easy, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Great recipe! Next time around I added tsp of sugar, 1/2 part heavy orange juice and a couple mandarian slices and blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JETJOUSTER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was a really tasty dressing that I used over pasta salad. You can certainly play around with this recipe using your favorite herbs and spices, or sweetening it up a bit with a little sugar. Thanks Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
A little too vinegary... will change ratio to 2:1 oil:vinegar and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I have made this several times and it is always well received by my guests. Since the two main ingredients are the balsamic vinegar and the olive oil, the secret to success is picking the correct brands. Use a high end balsamic vinegar and the extra virgin olive oil that fits this recipe! All brands say "extra virgin" on the bottle, but they are not all equal in taste. The extra virgins I like with this are the less expensive “Goya” brand and the more high end "B.R. Cohn."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Not the best balsamic vinaigrette on the site - it needs honey or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette

Homemade vinaigrette made in just a few minutes.

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States