Balsamic Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
yum! I used organic raw sugar, no butter... and no HEAT! Instead I added about 3 tbsp of very good aged balsamic, sliced the berries evenly on the mandolin, and let them sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. They made their own wonderful syrup. I almost dont want to bother with the ice cream! I'm thinking that investing in the "good" balsamic makes he difference here - and allows the sauce to be rich and thick without the addition of butter. I'm going to be eating this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Brown
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The best ice cream topper! I had to use frozen berries this time but was amazing! Toped the dish with cornflakes toasted in butter and brown sugar. Warmed granola would have been great to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I really wanted to try this recipe because I love fruit mascerated in Balsamic Vinegar. I used White Balsamic Vinegar in this because I received the bottle shown in the picutre from Avon and Ivon. I think it also kept the strawberries a natural red color. This is a very yummy, low calorie dessert and I will make again. Four star rating because I felt the strawberries broke down too much. Don't know if it is me or what. I would have liked for them to a littel more firm. But, this DID NOT affect the taste. Just the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
fast, simple and delish. Next time would double the "sauce" for drizzling. For Valentines Day I put the frozen yogurt and strawberries over a chocolate brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
You can use real sugar with this if you want. Delicious! Everyone I make it for loves it. There have been some pretty picky taste buds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This didn't sound that great to me, but I gave it a try and WOW was it good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Oh my - I love strawberries and I love balsamic vinegar, but never thought of the two paried together! This is a really great dessert that's so simple and yet a bit on the elegant side. Not to mention it's low fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Just made it and it's AMAZING! If you're watching your sugar intake, as I am, the splenda works just fine. You don't taste the sourness of the vinegar at all =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
WOW was this ever delicious!! Fresh strawberries are in our garden and I was looking for new ways to serve them. I made 1/2 recipe for my husband and I, he said I should have made the whole recipe.....for seconds...next time!!! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I found the butter was important in making a syrup, contrary to what some reviews have suggested. A quick splash of balsamic and 2-3 tablespoons of sugar is all you need to bring out the sweetness and tartness of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States