Balsamic Salad dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Excellent salad dressing! I'm so glad I stumbled upon this recipe! I used low sodium V8 and splenda and added a little dijon to thicken it up. It's so good you'd never guess it's basically fat free! This is a definite keeper especially if you're on a diet or just looking to keep things light and healthy without giving up taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is a superb dressing and is 0 pt per tablespoon on Weight Watchers. I did change mine up a smidge. I made a double batch, doubling the tomato juice to 1 1/2 c and 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar but still used only 1 package of the italian dressing. I also sweetened mine up with more sugar, about 2 1/2 tablespoons instead of the 1tbl and 1 tsp that would make a double batch but you could use Splenda just as well. Play with this and make it your own, but you will find the basic recipe is delicious all by itself. Took me maybe 2 minutes to prepare if you don't count the fact I had to run to the store and get italian dressing mix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Holy Yum! This is one great dressing. I wasnt sure of it, to little items and to easy, but I made it. IT IS FANTASTIC. YES, I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Wonderful recipe, wouldn't change a thing. My husband would only eat a salad with a creamy consistency such as a Ranch etc. but now he has been converted to this one also. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this sans sugar. I thought this was quite good. Nice way to use an odd packet of italian salad mix I had in my pantry. Wisk in a quarter cup of sour cream and this would make a great creamy dressing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My new favorite salad dressing. Quick to make and delicious. I use V8 sometimes and it is just as good. Prefer to use red wine vinegar but balsamic is good too. I also cut the sugar down to 1 tsp and use Spenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was quick to put together and it was very tasty. A new house dressing here! Thanks Alice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was just OK for us as written. Second time: I used ranch mix and added 1/2 can tomato paste to thicken it. The extra tomato toned the vinegar down nicely,too. My changes made this 5 stars for us. Update: Added 6 drops of liquid smoke to the leftovers. MMMMM! Tastes like a bacon tomato dressing I sometimes get in the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent, I used the red wine vinegar, because that's what I had and one packet of Splenda. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Wonderful salad dressing. I used the Zesty Italian Salad Dressing version but still in the envelope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States