Balsamic Roasted Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious - a fabulous take on roasted red potatoes! I didn't bother doing these in a skillet. I sprayed the bottom of a 9x13 pan with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick. I quartered a red onion vs. using a green onion both for presentation and flavor. I tossed the onion and the red potatoes with the olive oil, garlic, rosemary, and thyme. I added a bit of kosher salt and fresh cracked black pepper. I left out the nutmeg as I didn't feel it would add much. I tossed in a bit of balsamic and roasted this covered with foil at 450 for 20 minutes. I turned the mixture added a bit more balsamic and roasted the potatoes uncovered for another 25 minutes. The balsamic carmelized the onions and wasn't overpowering. This is a great side dish! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
AMAZING! This is a fabulous way to make flavorful red potatoes! Recommended alterations: Use an entire bunch of green onions, finely chopped; about 2 T FRESH rosemary, and an extra 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I also reduced the olive oil to only 1 tablespoon - sautéed the onion and garlic for a minute before adding the potatoes; sautéed the potatoes for about 5 minutes then added the spices/herbs (including the salt and pepper) - cooked an additional 5 mintues. Transferred to a foil lined baking dish and baked for about 30 minutes - added vinegar and baked another 10-15 minutes. Superb! PS. This tastes great both with and without the nutmeg - if you do use nutmeg I only recommend a dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Excellent! I accidently cooked the potatoes in the vinegar. I kept it covered with foil so it wouldn't evaporate too much. The balsamic vinegar reduced to a fabulous rich and carmalized syrup. I would highly recommend cooking it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This is one of those recipes that I wish there were more than 5 stars on this thing!!! I am a huge potato fan - baked, fried, mashed, roasted, boiled - and this is honestly one of the best potato recipes I have ever tried. Baked at 450 for 20 minutes then added the vinegar and salt/pepper and baked for 10 more minutes, turned out perfect. Perfect balance of onion, garlic and vinegar... Thank You! ***PS - Try using White potatoes instead of red, they don't seem to turn out as 'brown' if presentation is important to you***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I just made these the other night and we loved them. Any time you roast potatoes in the oven, I always recommend roasting at 450 degrees for about 30 minutes and covering the pan with tin foil. I also stir the potatoes every 10 minutes or so to avoid burning. That is what I did with these and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe with a few notes and improvements. I used red onion which was great but green probably would be too, and I used only a few dashes of nutmeg after reading other reviews (but didn't notice it so next time I'll try more). I found I had to cook the potatoes about 40 minutes to get them thoroughly done, stirring frequently. Next time I will use more garlic and thyme. The amount of vinegar scared me when I poured it but I didn't find it dominant at all in the final result. Delicious, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Absolutely delicious!!! I was worried that the balsamic would be too over-powering, but it was very gourmet - great flavor! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I was a bit skeptical of this recipe at first because of the balsamic vinegar but thought they would be a great addition to the pittsburgh style steak my husband was making. They were delicious!! They toned down the spiciness of the steak perfectly and the flavor was amazing! I didn't have green onions or nutmeg but neither was missed. My 17 month old and I had the leftovers with our lunch today and they tasted just as good today reheated. My 3-1/2 year old usually turns his nose up to roasted potatoes but he loved these and didn't even ask for "dip." (aka ketchup) Thank you Bev for this recipe. We will be enjoying this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Delicious. I would recommend checking the potatoes before adding the balsamic vinegar to see if they are close to tender. I followed the directions but my potatoes weren't done enough and so vinegar cooked a bit too long and carmelized to the bottom of the pan. I carefully removed potatoes from the pan and they were still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Great recipe. We were a bit wary about the amount of vinegar in the recipe, but it was just enough, and by the end of the meal everyone was stealing pieces from the serving platter! Will become a staple recipe. Nice presentation for guests too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States