Balsamic Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I heard a tip on the radio recently to use a cheap Sauvignon Blanc instead of vinegar in the jars. Looks better. Also instead of peeling them before soaking them in vinegar, crack the egg shell all over, soak in the vinegar, then peel.... a cool crackle appearance on the eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
We make Balsamic Pickled Eggs also and all we do boil the eggs, put them in a mason jar, pour Italian balsamic vinegar over them and let sit in the frig for a minimum of 3 days. Out of this world goooooood :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green_Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I loved the flavor of these eggs! I think the key is you have to really like balsamic vinegar. These eggs do not taste like traditional pickled eggs. The egg prep really depends on the eggs you use.... We use nest fresh eggs and the trick is to place eggs in cold water with1/8 cup salt per qt. Of water.... Bring to full boil...remove from heat... Cover and let set for 17 minutes....place eggs in to ice cold water until chilled. This way the eggs are cooked through and pop right out of the shell. Yummy thank for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
honestly i loved the flavor! It's the egg preping that did not work. These eggs were only half cooked. I advise to fully boil the egg before aging. I questioned it before I made them, but wanted to follow the recipe exactly. If you like a sunny side up pickled egg..more power to ya! 3stars for flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I thought this was a very bland pickled egg. But my opinion is that pickled eggs should tangy. I'm not really sure I like balsamic vinegar, so that could have been the problem. I didn't find the color intimidating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Randolph, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was the first time I'd actually made pickled eggs and they turned out all right, they were just much-too-sweet for my taste buds. My stepdad tried them and approved of them, so I'll say there's not good, not bad, I just didn't like them too much :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I've made and had lots of variations of pickled eggs and I'm sorry to say. . .I'm not feeling this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The best pickled eggs my boyfriend has ever had...we are on our second batch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was looking for a different pickled egg recipe and this was it. I was surprised by the strong garlic after taste. I think the quality of balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the overall taste. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Sorry, I hate to do this but these were not good. I grew up on pickled eggs (jar of beets, apple cider vinegar, and sugar) but this time I decided to do something different and use this recipe. I used 18 eggs since I love pickled eggs. There is a bitter coffee aftertaste to these. I will stick to pickled beet eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States