Balsamic Pear, Chicken, and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Solid recipe. I went light on the chicken (meat is just getting so expensive!) and heavy on the ginger. I did not brown my chicken first and had no issues. I had no apple juice, subbing 'white cooking wine' seemed to work well. All in all a tasty meal for fall when I used green beans instead of asparagus as recommended! I loved the rosemary and might try some fresh next time, added closer to the end. I cooked mine for about 4.5 hours, any more and I think it would have been overdone. The dish was sweeter than I expected but nummy, thanks for sharing this unique recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was really hesistant to try this recipe due to the reviews being so mixed but I'm glad that I went for it. My bf and I really enjoyed this one. However, I did take some advice from other comments. I added the asparagus in on the last hour and they came out just right. After two hours passed, I drizzled more balsalmic over the chicken at every hour until it was done. I think this helped moisten the chicken and give it good flavor. My bf has already requested that I make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I used the ingredients, but as I like to go as fat free as possible I made this in the oven with boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I pared the pears, put them on top of the chicken, then made my sauce and drizzled it over the chicken. Instead of brown sugar I used honey. As asparagus was out of season when I made this, we didn't have any. Baked at 350 degrees for approx. 45 min - 1 hr. After the chicken was done, I put the chicken onto a platter, put the drippings into a saucepan, added some balsamic vinegar and cornstarch. Bring to a boil to thicken and then drizzle over chicken & pears. Ohhhhh so goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe is good and easy. I think next time I would cook it longer in the slow cooker. It was much better heated up the next day. The flavors melded together better. I would give it 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Chicken tasted real good, but the Asparagus was yucky tasting. It's a one-timer for us. I'll give a 3 for the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
We did not like this dish so much. The pear seem to have given the dish a rather odd taste. May try again with less sugar and without the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nlundgren
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
OK. So if I could give this a Ten I would.VERY Satisfying !!! Made only a few changes.Used butter instead of Veg.oil,seasoned the chicken with Hungarian Paprika,Garlic Salt and Lemon Pepper.Added 2 Tb of Soy-sauce to sauce.then I cooked everything on very low on top of the stove.It was done and perfect in 30 min. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nlundgren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious! Interesting combination of flavors that I really enjoyed together. The only reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five is that I would probably use half the sugar or less (the pears/apple juice make this plenty sweet already) and double the balsamic vinegar. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Tastes and smells like an Asian dish, I would serve it with rice. I don't really like pears, and I had sweet potatoes that I needed to fix, so I substituted that, I think they went very well with the dish. I also baked instead of slow-cooker, and the chicken wasn't dry. But I added the asparagus in the last few minutes to avoid mushiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I've been looking forward to making this dish. I finally made it today and I'm thoroughly confused by the 4 and 5 star reviews. I do a lot of cooking and was intrigued by the combination of ingredients. I made it as is. Didn't make any changes. I'm pretty disappointed and will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States