Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
this recipe had no flavor. the balsamic vinegar gave it a really unappetizing brown color. a bit expensive to make with the feta cheese and almonds. i threw the whole batch in the trash. very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulabelle67

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was pretty good, but if I make it again, I'd cut the onion way back--it is really strong and overwhelms the other flavors. I used toasted pine nuts--I think you could use whatever nuts you have on hand. I agree with another reviewer that the color is odd after adding the balsamic vinegar, but I think I'd still stick with the dark stuff for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Been making this for about 40 years. To the reviewer who cooked the mayo, that is not suggested in this recipe. You only cook the almonds. The rest of the ingredients are just folded in, after taking the almonds off the stove. This recipe usually tastes a bit better after sitting in the refrigerator overnight or for at least four to six hours. Serve on lettuce leaves (Bib, iceberg, romaine, red or green leaf) for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This review may sound harsh but, I made this today for lunch. My husband and I did not care for this. All of the ingredients do not blend well together. The feta with the acidity of the vinegar creates a bad odor. And when you add mayonnaise to a hot pan with warm ingredients, it is not good! Mayonnaise is supposed to be cold..never heated. I really did not like this. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was super easy and very good! I followed the exact recipe and was NOT disappointed! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Perhaps this is unfair, but I can't stand green peas. I have a freezer full and needed some means of using them up so I tried this recipe. I did not care for this recipe, my poor family did the best they could do in trying to finish this side dish (even the green pea-lover of the family). If you are trying to do something creative with peas I suggest you find another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love this recipe. I always use 1/2 cup light mayo. Make sure you use white balsamic. If you're using mayo with even less fat then the light, like lowfat, you may want to cut back on vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I replaced the feta with cheddar cheese. The next time I would use less of mayo and more of the Balsamic vineger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Appetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I though this was pretty good...I brought it to a picnic and EVERYONE loved it. I mae three salads and this was their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwelch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I like all of the ingredients in this recipe (LOVE feta, balsamic vinegar and peas), but something just didn't taste right to me. My family thought it was okay, but I was expecting spectacular from the reviews. It wasn't horrible, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States