Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Nice spicy pea salad.....I prefer mine with more of a peanut/mayo flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty salad, I agree with using white balsamic for appearance sake. It did not look appetizing with the dark and sometimes with my family that is half the battle to get them to try a new dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
this recipe had no flavor. the balsamic vinegar gave it a really unappetizing brown color. a bit expensive to make with the feta cheese and almonds. i threw the whole batch in the trash. very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulabelle67

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was pretty good, but if I make it again, I'd cut the onion way back--it is really strong and overwhelms the other flavors. I used toasted pine nuts--I think you could use whatever nuts you have on hand. I agree with another reviewer that the color is odd after adding the balsamic vinegar, but I think I'd still stick with the dark stuff for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Been making this for about 40 years. To the reviewer who cooked the mayo, that is not suggested in this recipe. You only cook the almonds. The rest of the ingredients are just folded in, after taking the almonds off the stove. This recipe usually tastes a bit better after sitting in the refrigerator overnight or for at least four to six hours. Serve on lettuce leaves (Bib, iceberg, romaine, red or green leaf) for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This review may sound harsh but, I made this today for lunch. My husband and I did not care for this. All of the ingredients do not blend well together. The feta with the acidity of the vinegar creates a bad odor. And when you add mayonnaise to a hot pan with warm ingredients, it is not good! Mayonnaise is supposed to be cold..never heated. I really did not like this. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was super easy and very good! I followed the exact recipe and was NOT disappointed! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Perhaps this is unfair, but I can't stand green peas. I have a freezer full and needed some means of using them up so I tried this recipe. I did not care for this recipe, my poor family did the best they could do in trying to finish this side dish (even the green pea-lover of the family). If you are trying to do something creative with peas I suggest you find another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love this recipe. I always use 1/2 cup light mayo. Make sure you use white balsamic. If you're using mayo with even less fat then the light, like lowfat, you may want to cut back on vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I replaced the feta with cheddar cheese. The next time I would use less of mayo and more of the Balsamic vineger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Appetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States