Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Loved it, only thing I did different was to use blue cheese instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARBIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yum, yum...it's the middle of winter and I'm craving "summer" foods and this is it. Delicious...I didn't have any green onions so I substituted red onion. I also used salad dressing in place of mayo because I like the tang. Will definitely be making this again and again. (Used a little less than 1/2 cup of salad dressing) Edit 4/30/12: I have used different flavored balsamic vinegars in this and it's even better. This time I used fig balsamic for a little sweet kick. I've also been cutting back drastically on the amount of mayo/salad dressing. I now only used about 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Absolutely yummy, I didn't have any feta cheese in, so I added crumbled stilton. The almonds toasted is definately the magic ingredient. My family are all lovers of balsamic vinegar, so this recipe went down a treat. It was quick and easy and goes with any meal. Because my peas were frozen, I simmered them for about 5 mins on the hob, just to thaw them. We served the Balsamic Pea Salad warm and it was gorgeous with a quiche. Served chilled would be equally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
very good, a nice change for the normal potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was worried that my guests wouldn't go for a pea salad - by the time I finished in the kitchen, there was one spoonful of this left for me to taste... 'nuff said!! I cut back on the mayo (used about a heaping tablespoon) and would cut back even more. I would also try adding more balsamic just because I love that kick. Substituted the feta with chunks of cheddar. The almonds are so perfect in this! I love peas so this salad is like a double whammy of deliciousness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
5 Stars on flavor. Everyone really enjoyed this salad. The only thing I didn't like was the color. The balsamic vinegar turned the mayo and feta cheese kinda tan. I think a little cheddar cheese thrown in would help the appearance. Either way, I will make often. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used this recipe hoping for something like the pea salad that my mother in law makes. It was pretty good! I think adding a chopped boiled egg might add something. I also used small cheddar cheese chunks instead of the feta. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Wow isn't an appropriate enough word! First: I DETEST peas! I was making something for my girls, as I firmly believe giving them the healthy variety, even if my palate doesn't care for it. So, instead of just fresh peas as usual, I thought I'd mix it up for them. I found this recipe and thought it had potential, plus it seemed simple enough. I had no feta on hand, and only had canned peas. Plus, I thought the mayo was way too much for something I was just whipping up for the kids (my husband hates peas too), so I only used 1/4 cup of lite mayo. Mixed it all up, and as any good cook does, I tasted the creation, fully, 100% expecting my senses to go into rejection mode, but no!! They didn't! In fact, I had to taste it several times to realize I was actually LIKING it! In fact, I liked it so much, we ate it right away without refridgerating! Amazing! Just goes to show - it's all in how it's made! So, will most certainly be making again. Will get frozen peas next trip to the store and feta also. I actually will keep the mayo at 1/4 cup, possibly will try it with 1/2 cup, but certainly no more than that (like to mind the fat cals). Thanks for expanding my horizons! **Made again today... used frozen peas - even better! We ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. We loved this...I did add more feta, but more cheese is always a good thing! Will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I love peas. I love pea salads. I love THIS pea salad as much as any I've ever had. After a friend of mine put nuts in her pea salad at a company picnic, I've been looking for something comparable. I don't think I would change anything, except maybe increasing the feta cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States