Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I'd also add less mayo and add in the bacon bits. I like a bit of spice so I added red chili flakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Not at all what I expected. I was quite disappointed. I did reduce the amount of mayo a bit, but followed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICHARUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Loved it, only thing I did different was to use blue cheese instead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARBIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Yum, yum...it's the middle of winter and I'm craving "summer" foods and this is it. Delicious...I didn't have any green onions so I substituted red onion. I also used salad dressing in place of mayo because I like the tang. Will definitely be making this again and again. (Used a little less than 1/2 cup of salad dressing) Edit 4/30/12: I have used different flavored balsamic vinegars in this and it's even better. This time I used fig balsamic for a little sweet kick. I've also been cutting back drastically on the amount of mayo/salad dressing. I now only used about 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Absolutely yummy, I didn't have any feta cheese in, so I added crumbled stilton. The almonds toasted is definately the magic ingredient. My family are all lovers of balsamic vinegar, so this recipe went down a treat. It was quick and easy and goes with any meal. Because my peas were frozen, I simmered them for about 5 mins on the hob, just to thaw them. We served the Balsamic Pea Salad warm and it was gorgeous with a quiche. Served chilled would be equally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
very good, a nice change for the normal potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was worried that my guests wouldn't go for a pea salad - by the time I finished in the kitchen, there was one spoonful of this left for me to taste... 'nuff said!! I cut back on the mayo (used about a heaping tablespoon) and would cut back even more. I would also try adding more balsamic just because I love that kick. Substituted the feta with chunks of cheddar. The almonds are so perfect in this! I love peas so this salad is like a double whammy of deliciousness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
5 Stars on flavor. Everyone really enjoyed this salad. The only thing I didn't like was the color. The balsamic vinegar turned the mayo and feta cheese kinda tan. I think a little cheddar cheese thrown in would help the appearance. Either way, I will make often. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used this recipe hoping for something like the pea salad that my mother in law makes. It was pretty good! I think adding a chopped boiled egg might add something. I also used small cheddar cheese chunks instead of the feta. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Wow isn't an appropriate enough word! First: I DETEST peas! I was making something for my girls, as I firmly believe giving them the healthy variety, even if my palate doesn't care for it. So, instead of just fresh peas as usual, I thought I'd mix it up for them. I found this recipe and thought it had potential, plus it seemed simple enough. I had no feta on hand, and only had canned peas. Plus, I thought the mayo was way too much for something I was just whipping up for the kids (my husband hates peas too), so I only used 1/4 cup of lite mayo. Mixed it all up, and as any good cook does, I tasted the creation, fully, 100% expecting my senses to go into rejection mode, but no!! They didn't! In fact, I had to taste it several times to realize I was actually LIKING it! In fact, I liked it so much, we ate it right away without refridgerating! Amazing! Just goes to show - it's all in how it's made! So, will most certainly be making again. Will get frozen peas next trip to the store and feta also. I actually will keep the mayo at 1/4 cup, possibly will try it with 1/2 cup, but certainly no more than that (like to mind the fat cals). Thanks for expanding my horizons! **Made again today... used frozen peas - even better! We ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States