Balsamic Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars for the original recipe and 5 stars after making a few changes. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added about 1/2 cup of halved cherry tomatoes, 1/4 cup red pepper, and the best suggestion, smoked almonds. I like a lot of mayo but 1/2 cup plus the balsamic was perfect. I will certainly use the mayo/balsamic combination for other things. I brought this to my book club and every bit of it was gone and I was asked to share the recipe. I made another batch of the salad today just for myself. Thanks for all the great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Made this in an attempt to convince folks who don't think they like peas that they might. And it worked! Big hit at our party. It's a wonderful mix of flavors & textures. I did toast my almonds in the toaster oven, tho. Will make my travelling team for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I switched out the toasted almonds for garbonzo beans, big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lone Mopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is a quick, easy, and delicious salad! After tastng the firsst bite after preparation, it was hard no to eat more! The balsamic vinegar and feta cheese are addictive and tasty ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good overall, but it just seems to be missing something and I can't quite put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was very delicious. I took off one star because the recipe calls for way too much mayo! Next time I make it, I'll start off with a few tablespoons of mayo first. Other than that, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the best salad ever! This is my fist time reviewing a recipe and I just had to review this one after I tried it! I had it at a potluck luncheon today at work. It out-shined all the other salads there!!!! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow! I was expecting good, but this was excellent. I have a friend who makes pea salad and although I'll never tell her this, this recipe blows it out of the water. I agree with the other reviewers to reduce the amount of mayo to just enough to coat (but that's my preference) and I also added real bacon bits because everything's better with bacon! The basalmic is an amazing touch and with the crunch of the almonds it's absolutely delicious. I even tried it BEFORE adding bacon bits and would still have given it 5 stars so no "tweak rating" going on here... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Nice twist on pea salad. This was very quick to put together with ingredients I usually have on hand. I did not measure the mayonnaise, just added enough until the salad was 'wet". The balsamic vinegar and feta were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
The adults liked this - the kids did NOT. I used far less mayo - a heaping tablespoon that was probably closer to 2T. So, husband and I enjoyed and will eat again. I'll offer the kids a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States