Balsamic Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wonderful combo of flavors. I was worried about the vinegar but everything melded so well. I let mine marinate for about 3 hours. Can't wait for the left overs tommorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Yum! Both my husband and I love this recipe! It's simple to prepare and tastes even better the longer you let it sit in the fridge. The one thing we've changed is to only use half of the olive oil, since we love the taste of the vinegar with the garlic and shallots and that much oil isn't really needed. This is perfect with Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken by Connie, also on this site, and oven roasted red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Excellent! Try adding some slightly toasted pine nuts! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
First time I made this, I waited 24 hours as it chilled and flavors melded in the fridge. I ended up eating the whole pound of beans in one shot. Three things that improve this, as far as I'm concerned: 1) Instead of boiling or steaming the green beans, toss them with a little olive oil so they get thinly coated, and then roast them on an aluminum foil covered sheet pan at 450F for 14 minutes. The beans taste better this way, plus the dressing sticks to them a bit better. 2) Throw some red pepper flake and fresh ground black pepper in the dressing. 3) Unless you're having some bread on the side, you can cut the amount of the liquid in the dressing by about 20%. Also, since you're not cooking the oil/vinegar, use extra-virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This salad was awesome! I took it to a get together with people I had never met and I became the green bean chef! Thanks for making me look good! I added a handful of reduced fat feta cheese and decreased the amount of olive oil a little. Tried it first with steaming the green beans and then roasting them and I'd give my vote to roasting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Got rave reviews on this when I served it at a post Christmas buffet. Like a previous poster, I tossed the green beans in olive oil and broiled them. This really did make them tender and crunchy and infused with flavor. Substituted red wine vinegar for balsamic as I was out and it was still great, but will try with balsamic next time. Great dish to prepare ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
In addition to the beans, I added fresh asparagus spears cut to the same length of the beans. I sprinkled salt, pepper, parsley and garlic powder into the vinegar and olive oil before pouring onto the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I needed a side dish for the 4th of July supper. I did a quick search for a recipe. This was the one I found and it was truly awesome. Because I didn't do this in advance I did not get to let it sit as long as I will the next time. Great recipe, I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Best side ever! The sweet crunchiness of the green beans with the rich tang of the vinegar compliment every picnic. This is my family's favorite Thanksgiving side. I always have to make extras so people can have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I haven't seen any mention of boiled white potatoes to this dish. I do, and the outcome is wonderful. The potatoes soak up the oil and the red wine vinegar along with the fresh green beans and it is amazing. Having it set over night is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States