Balsamic Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
I loved this. The people I made it for liked it, except my brother... but he doesn't like anything that involves vinegar. It was easy and full of flavor. The shallots make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
very fresh, very yummy. for those of you that don't do fresh basil too often, you might use less than called for. i used shredded mozz instead of cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was so easy and good. I personaly Loved it. As did my family I even shared it with my good friend and she too it to a family function and they all Loved it. Its better and less fatting then 3 Bean Salad . Marcy of Washington State
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Yum! Both my husband and I love this recipe! It's simple to prepare and tastes even better the longer you let it sit in the fridge. The one thing we've changed is to only use half of the olive oil, since we love the taste of the vinegar with the garlic and shallots and that much oil isn't really needed. This is perfect with Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken by Connie, also on this site, and oven roasted red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Excellent! Try adding some slightly toasted pine nuts! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bessemer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
First time I made this, I waited 24 hours as it chilled and flavors melded in the fridge. I ended up eating the whole pound of beans in one shot. Three things that improve this, as far as I'm concerned: 1) Instead of boiling or steaming the green beans, toss them with a little olive oil so they get thinly coated, and then roast them on an aluminum foil covered sheet pan at 450F for 14 minutes. The beans taste better this way, plus the dressing sticks to them a bit better. 2) Throw some red pepper flake and fresh ground black pepper in the dressing. 3) Unless you're having some bread on the side, you can cut the amount of the liquid in the dressing by about 20%. Also, since you're not cooking the oil/vinegar, use extra-virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
A nice change of pace from ordinary green beans. I find the recipe as written a little plain for my tastes, but it is a great base to add your favorite ingredients to. I added sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I really didn't care for this too much. I have to totally agree wth another reviewer, you have to really like the balsamic flavor to really enjoy this dish. However, my mom devoured it, so it really is a good recipe for those who like the balsamic taste. I didn't have any shallots, so I sauted some diced red onion in sesame oil, then added the vinegar to the onions. Also added some salt and white pepper, then poured it right over the hot beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was a very good salad but I chose the wrong entree to pair it with. So I put to back in the fridge & we'll eat it for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Awesome. It does need to marinate. I also ate the whole thing in one sitting. I will add crumbled feta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States